1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Repairing network adapter

Discussion in 'Networking' started by town5141, Jun 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. town5141

town5141 Thread Starter

I'm trying to repair the wireless network connection by right clicking the icon in the lower right tool bar but I get the following error: "Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed: Disabling the wireless network adapter. Make sure your netwrk adapter is properly installed". I have a Toshiba Satellite M45 so everything has been "pre-installed". I'm very new at the whole computer "tech" thing so I do not even know where to begin. :confused: Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Begin by telling us what you've done wirelessly. :)

Is the wireless adapter switched on? I think on Toshiba the switch is on the front of the laptop and the LED indicating the status is red.

Have you detected a wireless network and connected? Yours or a public hotspot? What happened to cause you to attempt the repair?

3. town5141

town5141 Thread Starter

The wireless adapter switch is on and I have detected a wireless connection: my Linksys. However; my signal strength was "very low". In the past, I've repaired the network and the signal strength was increased. When I tried it this time, it gave me the error. I haven't done anything different - at least, not on purpose.

4. hrPUFFnSTUFF

hrPUFFnSTUFF

gday I am unsure of this are you able to update your WAN miniport in device manager/network adapter/WAN miniport and WAN miniport packet shedualer
    sorry about the bad spelling

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Can you connect using a cable?

6. TerryNet