1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Replace hard drive Dell 2305 All-in-one

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Novictory, Dec 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    I posted this issue a while back. My hard drive is indeed dead and I would like to install a new one. I do not have an installation disk as this system (as were many others) did not ship with one and I made recovery disks. So, since the recovery disks were for the OLD hard drive, I guess I need to purchase a windows 7 or 10 OS. Also, once installed what else do I need to do: download drivers, download windows updates? I know I have to install my programs but what else. I am an average user - can you recommend a size and type for me to purchase. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should be able to use the recovery Disks to put the Windows system back onto the PC
    so it will be like having the PC when it was first purchased

    so put the new harddrive in
    put the 1st DVD from the recovery set
    when the PC starts , loginto the bios , which should come up on the screen how to log into the setup/bios
    make sure the DVD is the first in the boot order
    OR
    you may just see , press any key to boot from the DVD
    then you follow the onscreen instructions to install the software

    theres quite a few youtube videos that show you how to do this

    What windows version came with the PC ?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,994
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have a Dell Inspiron One 2305
    It has downloadable drivers only for Windows 7 64-bit and hasn't been tested for Windows 10.
    What's the exact "service tag/serial" number and "express service code" number on yours?

    It appears that model Dell originally came with Windows 7 Home Premium or Professional 64-bit.
    If it becomes necessary and you live in the U.S.A., you should be able to purchase the recovery media disc kit for it from HERE.
    Capture.JPG

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2016
  4. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Thanks. It came with Win 7 Home Premium. 7x9psm1 is the service tag. I asked a guy with Geek Squad at Best Buy and he indicated I would have to purchase new o.s. Glad to hear that I can use the recovery disks. I would like to know what else I need to do after installing H.D. I currently use about one quarter of a 280 gb drive on my laptop which is about 5 yrs old. Don't need much more than that so shouldn't be too costly. Any other thoughts would be most appreciated. Thanks to both for input.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    once you have run the installation DVD and re-installed windows 7 onto the all-in-1
    then - you will have a PC setup exactly as you first purchased
    the recovery should include the drivers - but you may need to goto the dell site with the service tag number and download and install any drivers
    NOW the issue will be that windows 7 , now requires 200 updates and this can take a couple
     
  6. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i'm afraid i have no recommendations for a replacement harddrive - have a look and see what you currently have
    probably seagate or WD
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,994
    First Name:
    Frank
    HERE is the support site that's assigned only to your Dell Inspiron One 2305.
    You should add and save this site in your browser's favorites/bookmarks list so you can quickly refer to it when needed.
    According to its original system configuration section, it shipped in January 2011 in the U.S.A. and came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit and came with these primary devices:
    AMD M880G + SB820M chipset
    ATI Radeon HD 4270 graphics
    Realtek ALC272 high definition audio
    Dell Wireless 1501 Half Mini-Card
    Realtek RTL8111E gigabit ethernet
    It's a bit time-consuming, but it's no longer a nightmare to install and update Windows 7.
    If you read my Windows 7 install and update guide at the top of the "Windows 7" section, it'll give you step-by-step instructions on how to do it.
    If you follow it correctly and get Windows Update to work properly, there should be 50 - 60 important/recommended updates to install afterwards.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2016
  9. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Actually I do have that site bookmarked. I also have asked questions on the Dell forum. I have received pretty good advice there as well. I am told by one of the Dell superstars that I need a SATA 2 or 3. I looked at the drive I pulled from my system and it indicates that it is a Barracuda 7200.12 -- 1 TB. It just says it is a SATA -- no number. I will do a search for such and see what I can come up with. I was able to remove the drive without any major problem so hopefully I can replace it with a shiny new one as easily. I will check out your windows updates page. Thanks again.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,994
    First Name:
    Frank
    It uses a SATA 3 (6.0 Gb/s) 3.5" internal hard drive.

    The Seagate Barracuda model is a very common one, but I recommend a Western Digital Black 500 GB - 1 TB model for a replacement.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16822236345

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    I am thinking about a $22.00 used Dell drive on ebay. P/N ST31000528AS. This is the msg I sent to the seller. "I am replacing a Dell drive using the p/n number you are showing for this drive. I removed it from the pc -- I have the cage, housing or whatever that is called, the power and data cables. This "drive only" therefore should be fine. There are two numbers that differ and are as follows: 9SL154-516. Your number on this drive is: 9SL154-302. The last 3 digits differ - perhaps they are mfg dates but need to know before I bid. Thanks very much".

    My question to you guys is about the last 2 numbers that I questioned. The seller did not have an answer. Does anyone on this site have any thoughts on this?
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,994
    First Name:
    Frank
    You're trying to find an identical replacement hard drive for that Dell, and that's not necessary to do.
    As long as it's a 3.5" SATA 3 model, that's the main thing.

    Buying a used hard drive on eBay for $22.00 is pretty much like throwing money away.
    You have no idea what shape that hard drive is in and how long it's been used.
    It may be "dead on arrival" or may fail within a short time after installing it.
    Spend a bit more money and buy a new hard drive which has a warranty.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Toshiba 3.5-Inch 1TB 7200 RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 32MB Hard Drive DT01ACA100I
    How about the Toshiba above? $48 on Amazon. Also, I have the data and power cables that I unplugged from and the enclosure it was in. Can I use the Toshiba with that situation? or any sata 3? I hear what you are saying. It's putting trust in the seller on Ebay which can be problematic. There is a money back guarantee. The reason I am going cheap is due to the fact that I am not comfortable doing this replacement. I have never done it so it's sort of a practice run. Of course if it doesn't work I won't know if it's due to DOA or my lack of expertise in replacing. I checked the question/answer section on Amazon and it answered the questions I asked you above so I think I can use the Toshiba. Thanks again for your input.
     
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,994
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to the on-line manual for that all-in-one, its back cover needs to be removed first before the hard drive can be removed.
    Capture1.JPG Capture2.JPG Capture3.JPG

    Removing and replacing a hard drive can be a quick and easy job, but installing the Windows operating system in it afterwards can be a difficult and time-consuming job.
    It all depends on how confident and knowledgeable you are.

    You didn't provide a webpage link to that hard drive on Amazon.
    Is THIS the one you're referring to?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. Novictory

    Novictory Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Unless I don't understand your statement regarding the back cover, I think it's pretty obvious that the back cover must be removed for hard drive replacement or any other stuff. I have done that which enabled me to look at what needed to be unplugged, lifted out etc. Also, I am not trying to find an EXACT replacement for Dell drive - I just wanted to make sure those last 3 digits didn't make it a different part. I reinstalled Win7 on my laptop a couple of years ago so know what a pain it can be. Thanks again.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1182580

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice