1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Replace HDD circuit?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zenoxio, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zenoxio

    Zenoxio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    So the circuit board on my HDD seems to be broken (so I was told). Is it possible to replace this instead of having to pay a lot of money sending it out for data recovery?

    The HDD is still being made and it's $60. Could I buy a new one and swap boards?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    If thats what the problem is then yes you can do that.

    HOWEVER, and this is critical, it must be the exact 100% identical drive and PCB; that means every model number, part number, and revision needs to be identical or it may not work.
     
  3. Zenoxio

    Zenoxio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    389
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    There may be some sites that would sell just circuit board, WD will not. It has to be exact, it can't be from a similar or newer model, there can be some exceptions to that but for 99% of the time it needs to be a 100% match.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Also note that the WD5000AAKS is only a partial model number, a full one would be WD5000AAKS-75YGA0(this happens to be the model of my WD 500GB drive).
     
  6. CAPSLOCK

    CAPSLOCK

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    If they try to rip you off, just buy the exact model of drive and pull the PCB off of it.
     
  7. Zenoxio

    Zenoxio Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    Okay so I have the WD5000AAKS-22TMA0, how do I know if I'm buying the exact same model if that 2nd part isn't listed on the product page?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918561

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice