Replacement of single keys for Toshiba Satellite S50-A

JJ0502

I broke - like chipped into pieces - the number 2 and 3 on my keyboard.
My laptop is a Toshiba Satellite S50-A and there have been 3 manufacturers of this laptop/keyboard. So, there are 3 different hinges for the individual keys. Very confusing.
Is there somewhere that I can buy single keys that will fit my keyboard?
(In case you can't tell, I'm a total novice)
Thanks for any help!

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
I would try Ebay for replacement keys. They can be very difficult to fit if the 2 parts of the hinge have to be replaced.

Also try Ebay for a whole keyboard which should be quite easy to fit and may not cost much more than the 2 keys.

JJ0502

Thanks for your suggestions. I've already replaced the keyboard - the broken keys are on the new keyboard. So what I really need are just two single keys. I've looked on eBay and found several Sellers that have single keys, but I can't tell the difference in the hinges shown because the diagrams/pictures are indistinguishable.

You are absolutely correct when you say that it's difficult to get the right hinges for the keys I need. With the 3 different manufacturers, there are 3 different hinges for the keys. :(

My next thought is to find a computer store or small repair shop where they might have single keys, and then take the laptop into the shop and have them replace the keys so that I don't screw things up (again). I'm not sure if there is such a place anywhere near where I live, but I figure I can do an advanced search and maybe come up with something?

plodr

Liz
You can buy single keys. I researched this when one key broke on an Acer laptop. I'll need to find the site because there were excellent pictures of the types of connectors below the keys.

New keyboards here, don't seem expensive
https://www.replacementlaptopkeys.com/s50/

plodr

Liz
I think I found the site