1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Replaces My Girlfriends Engine, One Of The Biggest DIYs I've Ever Done

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by jay9821, Mar 31, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jay9821

jay9821 Thread Starter

New to the forum, I am a medical professional and IT student. My passion has always been for cars, I belong to a few Subaru forums and thought I'd share this:

***"It's been a crazy ride over the last year. My girlfriends Saab 92x (Subaru with a Saab badge) seized a timing belt pulley a few month's ago and shredded her belt.

[​IMG]

Replaced the engine in the Saabaru (Subaru community slang term for it.) 5 weeks ago.

[​IMG]

Got a bunch of parts to do the swap

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

It's not fun pushing a 3k pound car up a steep driveway.

[​IMG]

If you ever plan on doing anything on your Subaru, own one of these. Company 23 crank pulley tool.

[​IMG]

Bought the engine off EBay. Got super lucky and this ej253 was clean internally. Replaced the valve cover gaskets and the spark plug gaskets too and the two access gaskets on the back of the block.. The engine had a brand new timing belt kit already on. This particular engine was also off a wrecked Saab 92x which kinda made me sad. But at least this engine will live on in spirit. 👍

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Got curious and rolled my crank. I felt compression and never any interference.

[​IMG]

Got it nice stripped down. And prepped for pull.

[​IMG]

Staying warm in -10 degree Michigan weather.

[​IMG]

Ran into an issue here and there... Michigan has a way to seize engine mount nuts.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Hammer and fine edged chisel for splitting block from bell housing.

[​IMG]

And boom.

[​IMG]