1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Replacing and porting HDD contents

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by buick87, Oct 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. buick87

    buick87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Dear all,

    The HDD of my server machine has reached capacity and needs to be replaced. I know there are plenty of tutorials on the net for putting in a new HDD but i'm less clear about how i would succesfully port the existing content, OS and all, to the new device. Any help?

    The other thing would be suggestions for what the new HDD should be. I was thinking somewhere in the 500gb-1tb bracket. Currently the machine has an ST340014A ATA, any ideas?

    Thanks all.

    James
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,624
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Does the server hardware support adding the new drive as a second hard drive and keeping the original system drive?
     
  3. buick87

    buick87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    The server hardware has a second HDD slot but this is currently being used as the server shared drive. I had thought i could remove the second drive temporarily, port the contents of the first to the new drive then re-insert the shared drive. Does this sound like the best course of action?
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,624
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Your plan should work. Check the web site of the manufacturer of the new drive to see if they offer any kind of download of a utility to let you clone or mirror the existing contents of the original system drive to the new drive. Just copying the contents from the old to the new drive will not make the new drive bootable.
     
  5. buick87

    buick87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Superb, thanks for the advice. Any wisdom on drive compatability? Or pointers to where I could find this out?
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,624
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You need to make sure to get a drive with the older Parallel ATA (PATA) IDE interface instead of the newer Serial ATA (SATA) interface to match th econnection used for the old drive. You also need to make sure that the interface connection being used with the second drive is also PATA.

    Maybe somebody else here can recommend a specific brand and model series for you.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024272

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice