1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

replacing mobo, n00b q's

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dlxhammer, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dlxhammer

dlxhammer Thread Starter

Hello, (be gentle im a noob @ building PC's)

A few months ago i had a computer store build a computer for me...

MSI k8n neo2 platinum mobo
    AMD 3500
    x2 1gb corsair XMS ddr400 pc3200
    ATi x800pro
    SB audigy
    WD 120gb HD
    windows xp home edition
    floppy & cdrom, and dvdRW bla bla bla

So now its time to update my GPU, which i have done many times before on older systems
    inorder to do so i need a new mobo...never done before (card requires pci 16x slot)

new parts will be:
    ASUS A8R-MVP ATi (crossfire, incase i want a 2nd gpu)
    ATi X1800XT
    and a new psu ASUS atlus 550w

I am pretty familier on how to use the BIOS...memory settings, OCing, and voltages...
    The hardware installation seems pretty simple (by the mobo user guide) but should i do anything to my HD before i rip everything out and put it on the new mobo, like uninstall some things???
    I will ofcorse uninstall my current gpu (drivers/control center)
    But im not quite sure how i would go about installing windows....does it get installed to the MOBO? or is it on the HD (confused) :confused: and anyother things i should do to my current setup before starting to rebuild...
    also ive read that removing the heatsink and processor may be a bit challenging?

Any help is much appreciated

Thanks

2. bigbear

bigbear

If you feel confident to remove and install the components thats great , just remember to observe static precautions.