1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reprogramming Easy Access Buttons on Compaq Keyboard

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Shamrock, Jan 16, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    775
    Has anybody been able to reprogram their buttons?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    29,446
  4. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    775
    I have a Compaq 7470 and there are 5 buttons that you are supposed to be able to reprogram to go to the sites you choose but I've never been able to do that.
     
  5. pearl

    pearl

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4
  6. rhettman5

    rhettman5

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    but, I use compaq computers...I ADMIT IT...
    I would forget about the " EASY Access" buttons, you can get them to work, but you can do the same thing, using a lot less resources by simply creating a few task bar shortcuts...only my opinion..
     
  7. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    775
    Before my harddrive crashed I couldn't get any of the programed buttons to work. Now my e-mail one works and the CD buttons. Took me a long time before I could get the 'sleep' light to go to amber like it should. Now, it's back to staying green.

    So, like what taskbar shortcuts do you have?
     
  8. rhettman5

    rhettman5

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    Almost anything you want, web shortcuts, favorite files, e-mail, whatever you want !...just don't get crazy as to many of these will also slow you down, but the software Compaq gives us is not needed, volume control is handy, after that,,,forget it....Rhett
     
  9. Shamrock

    Shamrock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    775
  10. rhettman5

    rhettman5

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    I do it by dragging items from desktop to taskbar, makes a handy shortcut...if not on desktop, right click desired file and "send to-desktop-create shortcut" then drag shortcut to task bar. this works for favorites, files, web pages.etc...post back if you have trouble :) ...Rhett
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65180