Reset width of scanned text columns with Word

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pyritechips

Jim
Thread Starter
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Hello:

When I scan a document with, let's say an three inch column. It is saved with that width and if I want to work with it in Word I have to manually delete carriage returns to make the text lines full width.

Is there an easier way to do this?

Sorry if my question is vague; I have virtually no Word experience. :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
>> Sorry if my question is vague; I have virtually no Word experience.

No problem. :)

You might be able to see the Show/Hide button (¶) on your toolbar ; it toggles the display of non-printing characters on and off. Click it to display them if it's off. If you can't see it, use the kb shortcut CTRL+SHIFT+*.

The symbol ¶, as per the button, should appear at the end of each line (it's a paragraph mark. Hit CTRL+H to run the Find/Replace dialog. In "Find What", you need "^p" (without the quotes ; ^ should be on the 6 key above the qwerty line, shifted). Leave "Replace with" blank and click on Replace All.

Rgds,
Andy
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Hey, Jim!

Just to add to Andy's post. When I do this, I often FIRST find/replace TWO paragraph returns so that my *real* paragraph returns don't get hosed. To do that, Find ^p^p and replace with some text that won't be found elsewhere (I use "parareturn"). Then do Andy's find/replace, then find "parareturn" and replace with ^p^p again.

:)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
>> When I do this, I often FIRST find/replace TWO p/rs ...

Yeah, I often don't do that, then remember I should've, then CTRL+Z, then start again.

Thanks Anne. :eek:

Rgds/Happy Easter,
Andy
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
LOL! Well...honestly, I always forget the first time around too...

Tonight...it's okay to act like a rabbit.
 

pyritechips

Jim
Thread Starter
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Hi dreamboat! :)

Hi XL Guru!

You people are great!

Sorry I took so long to respond but something came up here :(

I tried the "search for ^p and replace all with <blank>" trick and it worked! The only problem is that it also eats the spaces between the last word on one line and the first word on the next line so that they run together and I had to insert new spaces. But that's still better than before! :D

*Bows humbly to the Word Meisters!*
 

pyritechips

Jim
Thread Starter
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Update:

I just experimented and I found that replacing with <spacebar> adds the needed spaces between the lines.

Neat! :D (y)
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
I will schwack XLGuru next time I see him.
I will let XLGuru schwack me next time he sees me.

:D
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
>> I will schwack XLGuru next time I see him.

ROFLMAO! With a book, presumably.

"When things look bad, teamwork's the answer" ; He-Man (of Castle Grayskull fame).

Rgds,
Andy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top