[Resolved] add/remove box is empty

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

muningo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
11
I had problems with my modem and contacted Compuserve technical support. They "walked me through" several steps and had me restart my computer..This temporarily fixed the modem, but a few minutes later, i realized that my add/remove box was completely empty! Despite having tons of programs installed, NONE are listed there anymore...They ARE still on my system though, and work fine. ( I access then through the programs menu..)
I called Compuserve back, and told them what happened. They say nothing they had me do would have caused that....but it DID..I installed a new program just to see if it would show up, and it did NOT...What happened??? and is there any way to fix this?
Thank,
Pam
 

muningo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
11
I have, but it is a very minimal one that I downloaded for free off the web..and probably not very current...think that could be my problem?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
sounds like it to me.... go do the housecall
Come back & let us know what it finds
 

muningo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
11
ok guys...GOOD NEWS...(although we still don't have a clue where the add/remove files are..:)..My machine is virus free according to the housecall scan..
any other ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Read the link I posted. It pertains to exactly the problem you have.

Add Remove programs may be empty due to the length of a name >63 characters.
 

muningo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
11
But, they WERE there, and have been for the last year until about a week ago...Could the file names change for some reason to one >63 letters??...If they were within limits for the last year, why all of a sudden would they be too long?..Could that be possible?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
If you can't resolve the problem otherwise, it may be best to restore a registry which predates the problem if you have Win98 or WinME. You will have to redo whatever fixes or installs were made following the restored date.

To restore a previous registry in Win98, restart in MS-DOS mode and at the c:\windows\> prompt enter:

scanreg /restore

select a prior started registry from one of the 4 you see.

If you have WinME you will need to use your boot disk to access a command prompt. In WinME you also have the option of doing a "system restore".
 

muningo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
11
I guess it was in September that System Restore in ME got some sort of bug or something, and I just 4 days ago discovered the "fix" on the microsoft site...HOWEVER...it has NOT created any "restore points" yet...It used to do that automatically 2 times a day..But now it tells me none are available..
My computer came with Windows ME installed...I have a "Restore CD" from emachine..that came with the computer...would that reinstall windows?..
 

muningo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
11
I was reading the post about scanreg in windows 98, and although I run ME, I thought, what the heck...and I hit, start>run>typed scanreg in the space and hit "GO"..WELL...I got an error that said . Windows encountered a problem with your scan registry. Windows will repair the problem and restart your computer..AND IT DID!...When it rebooted...my files are ALL there!!!...It took my clock back to pre-daylight savings time, and prompted me to check and reset it...and now, it's all fixed! What do you think happened???? THANK-YOU..THANK-YOU...your suggestion prompted me to "just do it ans see"...and it worked!...Thanks again,
Pam
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
That's very interesting. Normally to restore an older registry you would have to do it from DOS. However scanreg which checks for structural errors in the registry can be run from within Windows. I'm not sure what it did to "fix" it that would change the system clock and date, even restoring a very old registry shouldn't do that.

Do check that your more recently installed programs still run.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top