[Resolved] Bad command... system file replaced with old version

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Hi, I'm running win98se and when booting up I see 2 instances of C:\>, and the next line reads:
Bad command or file name

Other than that, it seems to boot normally albeit a little slowly.
I have Startup Cop installed and I'll try to thin things a bit.

Should be worried about the command message? I'll appreciate any help.
sebastian pons
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Go to http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/ :

Download StartupList 1.51

After unzipping the file, run it. You will see a text file displayed. Copy/paste the file directly to a reply. To copy/paste, when the file is open, click Edit>Select All > Edit > Copy and then right click on a reply window here and select "paste".
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
There you go
sebastian

StartupList report, 2/9/03, 07:56:39 PM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PROGRAMS\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.51 SP2 (5.51.4807.2300)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\REGPROT\REGPROT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICONOID\ICONOID.EXE
C:\RAIN\RAIN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PROGRAMS\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
Rain.lnk = C:\Rain\Rain.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

internat.exe = internat.exe
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
AVG_CC = C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
Lwinst Run Profiler = C:\Program Files\Logitech\WingMan Profiler\Lwtest.exe /detect /quiet /launch "C:\Program Files\Logitech\WingMan Profiler\Lwpevntm.exe"
RegProt = c:\regprot\regprot.exe /start
ScriptSentry = C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCRIPT SENTRY\SCRIPTSENTRY.exe /check
RivaTunerStartupDaemon = "C:\RIVA TUNER\RIVATUNER.EXE" /S

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

Avgserv9.exe = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
PersFw = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE"

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Iconoid = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICONOID\ICONOID.EXE"

--------------------------------------------------

File association entry for .HTA:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htafile\shell\open\command

(Default) = C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCRIPT SENTRY\SCRIPTSENTRY.exe "%1" %*

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 2/2/2003, 10:21:2)

[rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\w98setup.bin
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\suback.bin
[NUL]
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DCOMREG.EXE=1

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS *******
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WaveInit /A220 /I5 /D1 /L388 /U330 /S
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WAVETSR.COM
LH MSCDEX.EXE /D:MSCD001
mode con codepage prepare=((862) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\hebega.cpi)
mode con codepage select=862

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\STARDO~1\SDIEINT.DLL - {FFFFFEF0-5B30-21D4-945D-000000000000}
(no name) - (no file) - {206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6}
(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[HouseCall Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/20011223/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

[MSN Chat Control 4.2]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT42.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat42.cab

[YInstStarter Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://apple.speedera.net/qtinstall.info.apple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 5,173 bytes
Report generated in 0.671 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy there pons...

I don't think the errors are causing a problem, as they are from the Autoexec.bat file...

What you can try is to edit the Autoexec.bat file and type "rem" ( without the quotes ) in front of both of these statements in the Autoexec.bat file...

mode con codepage prepare=((862) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\hebega.cpi)
mode con codepage select=862
 

IMM

Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
3,257
In c:\autoexec.bat - there should be a REM at the beginning of the
****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS *******
line.

The 'command' ****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS ******* won't make a whole lot of sense to the command interpreter :)

The "c:\" lines will likely result from blank lines in the autoexec.bat file.
 

IMM

Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
3,257
BTW - the CLSID 206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6 appears (I think) to be Fresh Devices - but I'm not sure why it isn't showing a file.

Rog - I've often dumped mscdex in the root and set up that way. Wherever mscdex is (as with all the calls) the file will have to exist.
But now that you bring the point up - I'm wondering why he's running real mode cd drivers at all ??
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Ok, I was just looking to see if I could find any examples like that, and yes I could, so went and deleted my original misgivings.

I think pons at one time, and maybe still, set this up to run DOS games and it is possible those entries were put there then.
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
I'm a little overwhelmed! I'll try to explain:

First of all, " mode con codepage prepare=((862) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\hebega.cpi)
mode con codepage select=862 " refer to the windows version I'm using. In this case Hebrew Enabled WIN98se.

I could rem out the PCI audio dos utilities, I guess, but would it get rid of the Bad command or file name " line?

RR, you are right, I have those lines because I used to play DOS games, and Still do sometimes.

I'm running the CD in real mode cd drivers because the tecky installed them, and I don't dare to delete them.

The CLSID 206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6 line could very well be from fresh devices. I used their downloader for a while but I don't use it anymore. Perhaps it was left behind? Is there a way to confirm?

Thank you all
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
pons, making the line read:

rem ****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS *******


won't disable the subsequent entries on separate lines. It just tells the command interpreter that that that particular line is a comment, not code to be executed.
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Done Rollin' Rog.

Anything on the Fresh Devices entry? Or was it a misreading?

sebastian pons
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I do see the cslid associated with Fresh Devices/Fresh download. You can remove it without worry.
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Gone too.

I'll post back tomorrow with results re the "bad command" thingy.

Thank you for your help
sebastian pons
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
OK, the bad command line is gone for good. It was the PCI sound line that caused the trouble.

I have still another issue, and is the appearance of a missing or changed DLL message. It is the LZEXPAND.DLL. Luckily I have a backup or my dlls so I restore it, but if I install a program I'm sure to see it again on reboot. Is there a solution other than restore a backed up copy of the DLL?

sebastian pons
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
What program gives the error message? If it has it's own folder and starts from there, it might help to place a copy of the desired dll in that folder. It may be wanting an older version. Or you may need a newer version of that program.

I don't see any reason why most installs would even affect that dll. And usually when a program does change a dll like that, it will place the old copy in the c:\windows\sysbckup folder.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top