1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Bad command... system file replaced with old version

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by pons, Feb 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Hi, I'm running win98se and when booting up I see 2 instances of C:\>, and the next line reads:
    Bad command or file name

    Other than that, it seems to boot normally albeit a little slowly.
    I have Startup Cop installed and I'll try to thin things a bit.

    Should be worried about the command message? I'll appreciate any help.
    sebastian pons
     
  2. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Go to http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/ :

    Download StartupList 1.51

    After unzipping the file, run it. You will see a text file displayed. Copy/paste the file directly to a reply. To copy/paste, when the file is open, click Edit>Select All > Edit > Copy and then right click on a reply window here and select "paste".
     
  3. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    There you go
    sebastian

    StartupList report, 2/9/03, 07:56:39 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PROGRAMS\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.51 SP2 (5.51.4807.2300)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\REGPROT\REGPROT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICONOID\ICONOID.EXE
    C:\RAIN\RAIN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PROGRAMS\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Rain.lnk = C:\Rain\Rain.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    internat.exe = internat.exe
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
    Lwinst Run Profiler = C:\Program Files\Logitech\WingMan Profiler\Lwtest.exe /detect /quiet /launch "C:\Program Files\Logitech\WingMan Profiler\Lwpevntm.exe"
    RegProt = c:\regprot\regprot.exe /start
    ScriptSentry = C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCRIPT SENTRY\SCRIPTSENTRY.exe /check
    RivaTunerStartupDaemon = "C:\RIVA TUNER\RIVATUNER.EXE" /S

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    Avgserv9.exe = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    PersFw = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Iconoid = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICONOID\ICONOID.EXE"

    --------------------------------------------------

    File association entry for .HTA:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htafile\shell\open\command

    (Default) = C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCRIPT SENTRY\SCRIPTSENTRY.exe "%1" %*

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 2/2/2003, 10:21:2)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\w98setup.bin
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\suback.bin
    [NUL]
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DCOMREG.EXE=1

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    ****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS *******
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WaveInit /A220 /I5 /D1 /L388 /U330 /S
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WAVETSR.COM
    LH MSCDEX.EXE /D:MSCD001
    mode con codepage prepare=((862) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\hebega.cpi)
    mode con codepage select=862

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\STARDO~1\SDIEINT.DLL - {FFFFFEF0-5B30-21D4-945D-000000000000}
    (no name) - (no file) - {206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6}
    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/20011223/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    [MSN Chat Control 4.2]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT42.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat42.cab

    [YInstStarter Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

    [{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
    CODEBASE = http://apple.speedera.net/qtinstall.info.apple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,173 bytes
    Report generated in 0.671 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  4. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    bump

    sebastian pons
     
  5. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy there pons...

    I don't think the errors are causing a problem, as they are from the Autoexec.bat file...

    What you can try is to edit the Autoexec.bat file and type "rem" ( without the quotes ) in front of both of these statements in the Autoexec.bat file...

    mode con codepage prepare=((862) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\hebega.cpi)
    mode con codepage select=862
     
  6. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    In c:\autoexec.bat - there should be a REM at the beginning of the
    ****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS *******
    line.

    The 'command' ****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS ******* won't make a whole lot of sense to the command interpreter :)

    The "c:\" lines will likely result from blank lines in the autoexec.bat file.
     
  7. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    BTW - the CLSID 206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6 appears (I think) to be Fresh Devices - but I'm not sure why it isn't showing a file.

    Rog - I've often dumped mscdex in the root and set up that way. Wherever mscdex is (as with all the calls) the file will have to exist.
    But now that you bring the point up - I'm wondering why he's running real mode cd drivers at all ??
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Ok, I was just looking to see if I could find any examples like that, and yes I could, so went and deleted my original misgivings.

    I think pons at one time, and maybe still, set this up to run DOS games and it is possible those entries were put there then.
     
  9. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    I'm a little overwhelmed! I'll try to explain:

    First of all, " mode con codepage prepare=((862) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\hebega.cpi)
    mode con codepage select=862 " refer to the windows version I'm using. In this case Hebrew Enabled WIN98se.

    I could rem out the PCI audio dos utilities, I guess, but would it get rid of the Bad command or file name " line?

    RR, you are right, I have those lines because I used to play DOS games, and Still do sometimes.

    I'm running the CD in real mode cd drivers because the tecky installed them, and I don't dare to delete them.

    The CLSID 206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6 line could very well be from fresh devices. I used their downloader for a while but I don't use it anymore. Perhaps it was left behind? Is there a way to confirm?

    Thank you all
    sebastian pons
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    pons, making the line read:

    rem ****** PCI AUDIO DOS UTILS *******


    won't disable the subsequent entries on separate lines. It just tells the command interpreter that that that particular line is a comment, not code to be executed.
     
  11. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Done Rollin' Rog.

    Anything on the Fresh Devices entry? Or was it a misreading?

    sebastian pons
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I do see the cslid associated with Fresh Devices/Fresh download. You can remove it without worry.
     
  13. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Gone too.

    I'll post back tomorrow with results re the "bad command" thingy.

    Thank you for your help
    sebastian pons
     
  14. pons

    pons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    OK, the bad command line is gone for good. It was the PCI sound line that caused the trouble.

    I have still another issue, and is the appearance of a missing or changed DLL message. It is the LZEXPAND.DLL. Luckily I have a backup or my dlls so I restore it, but if I install a program I'm sure to see it again on reboot. Is there a solution other than restore a backed up copy of the DLL?

    sebastian pons
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    What program gives the error message? If it has it's own folder and starts from there, it might help to place a copy of the desired dll in that folder. It may be wanting an older version. Or you may need a newer version of that program.

    I don't see any reason why most installs would even affect that dll. And usually when a program does change a dll like that, it will place the old copy in the c:\windows\sysbckup folder.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117869

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice