[Resolved] Can only run one Internet window

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
Going to sleep on switch....no visible conflicts?

New "simple" prob......if I have TechGuy in taskbar and click for Virtual Drive < Techguy launches, appears for second then disappears from screen and taskbar....works same for opposite too....matter of fact, it happens with any Inet site...can only have i site at a time on taskbar...can have all my own progs on, but only one internet site....weird?....rt
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\FIREWALL\PAVFIRES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\APVXDWIN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\PAVPROXY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

Looks like good stuff to me Rog....checked out file from other thread, dont have....rt
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
You only posted a partial list. With the log file open, click Edit > Select All > Edit > Copy. Then paste to a reply. Or just upload the txt file as an attachment.
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
StartupList report, 1/30/03, 11:44:02 PM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.51 SP2 (5.51.4807.2300)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\FIREWALL\PAVFIRES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\APVXDWIN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\PAVPROXY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\PRINTKEY510\PRINTKEY2000.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
POINTER = point32.exe
SCANINICIO = "C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Platinum\Inicio.exe"
APVXDWIN = "C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Platinum\APVXDWIN.EXE" /s
Tweak UI = RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
PAVFIRES = C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Platinum\Firewall\PavFires.exe

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 30/1/2003, 17:43:44)

[rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\win386.swp

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX (file missing) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_3.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1108/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

[Register Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HWUTILS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://content.hiwirenetworks.net/inbrowser/cabfiles/2.5.19/Hiwire.cab

[Live365Player Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PLAY365.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab

[YInstStarter Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

[CCMPGui Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CCMP392.DLL
CODEBASE = http://64.124.45.181/chaincast/proxy/CCMP.cab

[sys Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

[iCC Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPCONNCHECK.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/pcpConnCheck.cab

[ActiveScan Installer Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.es/activescan/as/asinst.cab

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = http://207.246.124.105/cabs/ROOSTER3001/TPS108.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37618.3122916667

[QDiagHUpdateObj Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QDIAGH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://h30043.www3.hp.com/dj/qdiagh.cab?223

[DiskHealth Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CONFLICT.1\DISKHEALTH.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/diskhealth.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 5,038 bytes
Report generated in 0.049 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Well I'm giving you a new thread for this. I don't really see any "nasties" there. Does it happen if you uncheck all your Antivirus apps or disable them or if you end-task everything in the task manager window but Explorer, systray, and rnnapp (or whatever is required to maintain your internet connection)?

How long has the problem been happening and have you run IE Repair since then?

Also with all that memory you should be fine installing and running a second browser. Good to have a backup and to test how specific problems are to IE. I've become fond of Opera6 even with the ads.
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
Happens under all scenerios...IE repaired last nite when this became a prob....have OPERA, hadnt thought of trying there....will do now...cu
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
When you do a ctrl-alt-del do you see the other browser windows in the running processes?

MO's right, I don't know why I always miss that one when looking through startup lists...

Spybot may not delete it, but you can remove it through Internet Options > Settings > View Objects.
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
I forgot how much faster Opera is....hadnt used it in a while....both those progs gone....tell MO already have spybot, some adaware must have hung on!!

Problem same in Opera...only 1 minimized in Taskbar at a time...
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Rog,
Those StartupLists and HijackThis Logs are so long, I can barely finish them. LOL


arty,

You have made a ton of changes. If you don't mind a suggestion just for maintenance, I would delete all temp files, do a boot to DOS and do a scanreg /opt

Boot back into Windows. Do a scandisk and defrag.

I would also make a manual Registry backup.


Mo
 

arty62

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
290
MMMMOSAIC>>>do a deltree on Temp. then scanreg /opt?..(What is, btw?)...rt
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
And does the previous window always disappear from the Task Manager as well (ctrl-alt-del) ?

And remember Opera has its own "taskbar", separate from the Windows taskbar/quicklaunch area.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Hang in and keep working with Rog. I am just thinking about some general maintenance.

Scanreg /opt will get rid of any slack space you might have in the registry and prevent possible registry corruption. Even though scanreg will run scanreg /fix if it finds a cetain amount of empty space, it is always good to do it yourself after making so many changes as you have.


You can boot and hold the CTRL button down to bring up the Boot menu. Choose command prompt only.


At the prompt type

scanreg /opt

Press enter.


While you are at it, you can deltree the temp int and windows temp folders


Type these and press enter after each line:

At the C:\>

cd windows
smartdrv
deltree temp
deltree tempor~1
deltree history
cd locals~1
deltree tempor~1


You may get an error. Temporary Internet can be in one of two places. I included them both. One will not be there.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top