1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Cannot find server

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by scotchtay, Jan 21, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    My ISP has not been very helpful in this matter, maybe someone here will be able to help. I connect to the internet using a 56K lucent win modem. After connecting I'm able to check emails and surf the web normally. In no perticular amount of time online IE6 can no longer find the server. I'm still connected but cannot do anything, all web pages are unavailable. Normally if I shut down the computer and reboot it works fine again but it seems to be happening more and more often. I'm using an HP 7955 with 1.5GHz P4 - 256MB SDRAM with a 40 GB ultra DMA hard drive running Windows XP.
    Any help with be great.
    Thanks,
    Scotch
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  3. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Savvy, thank you for your quick reply. The first link said that the article was not available and the second is not quite what is happening. What happens is when I attempt to access a different site or run a search I get a page that says that what I'm looking for is unavailable. The only mention of the server not being found is on the IE tab in the task bar. My ISP has had me make some changes in internet options but nothing seems to help.
    Scotch
     
  4. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Anybody else have any ideas here?
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,992
    Hiya

    There is this link:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q241344

    which has many ideas. Also, have you cleaned up?

    Tools | Internet Options. General tab, under Delete Files, delete offline content.

    then, clear the History.

    It could also be a corrupt cookie. Go to Find Files and type cookie
    Its usually located in c:\windows\system
    Delete all, and empty the recycle bin.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Has your ISP offered you any alternate access numbers? Have you just been using one, or tried others? Had similar problems in the past, they were always access number related.
     
  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    if you are using a popup stopper try disabling it & see if you continue to have problems
     
  8. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Thanks for all the suggestions, I've tried them all. I am not using a popup stopped, I cleaned up IE (manually and with spider), and my ISP has no other access numbers. This just started with the new computer, I've used the same ISP for nearly a year now with no previous problems. This is the message I'm getting:

    The page cannot be displayed
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.
    ______________________________________________
    Please try the following:
    Click the refresh button, or try again later.
    If you typed the page address in the address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.
    To check you connection settings, click the Tools munu, and Settings. The settings should match tose provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
    If your Network Administrator has enabled it, Microsoft Windows can examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings. If you would like Windows to try and discover them, click Detect network settings.
    Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strenght security you have installed.
    If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0m SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
    Click the Back button to try another link.

    Cannot find server or DNS Error
    Internet Explorer

    There is nothing in perticular that causes this to happen, but it happens once or twice a day. The only thing I can do is shut down the computer and reboot to get it working normally again.
    Scotch
     
  9. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    ;) Greetings Scotch,

    Go to Start/Find Files-folders. Type in "hosts" (w/o parenthesis). If you see one listed, right click and delete it. Be sure that says just hosts. (no extensions). Hope this helps. KW1
     
  10. fedup

    fedup

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    My windows xp is doing exactly the same thing, I am curious as to what happened when you deleted hosts or if you did delete host. I do not have files-folder in my start menu.(?)
     
  11. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    I found 4 hosts files:
    Name - In Folder - Type
    HOSTS - C:/I386 - File
    hosts - C:/Program Files/Start Surfing - DAT File
    HOSTS - C:/Windows/I386 - File
    hosts - C:/Windows/system32/driver - File
    kilowatt1, should I delete all of these?
    fedup, in the start menu click search then all files and folders.
    Scotch
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,992
    Hiya

    Did any of them have extensions? If so, which ones?

    eddie
     
  13. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    My search also turned up these:
    LMHOSTS.SA_ - C:/I386 - SA_File
    LMHOSTS.SA_ - C:/Windows/I386 - SA_File
    I didn't mention them before because kilowatt1 said only to delete the ones that only said "hosts". The others from my last post had no extensions.
    Scotch
     
  14. fedup

    fedup

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Scotch, have you deleted those files and if so what happened. Did it correct the problem? I found hosts at c:/I386; c:/windowsI386; c:/install quicken new user edition 2001/ custom/program; c:/windows/system32/driver Should I delete these files?
     
  15. scotchtay

    scotchtay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    fedup, I have not deleted the files yet. I'm not sure if I should before I hear back from Eddie or kw1. Better safe than sorry.
    Scotch
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65727

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice