[Resolved] Can't find WIN.COM

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Hi!

Im running a win98se. I was trying to do a reinstall over the OS. The instructions were if I got an error message saying that it didn't want to do the install I should type in:

c: [enter]
cd windows [enter]
ren "win.com" "win.old" [enter]

which I did, but now Im getting a message that says that it can't find win.com, and so it won't boot up.

any help would be greatly appreciated--or should I just type in C:\ format and be done with it. I've got all the important stuff backed up on D and E.?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Usually with reinstalls of Win98, you just boot to DOS and run the setup program. There was some old information out there about needing to rename WIN.COM when upgrading with to the old OEM SR2 but this shouldn't apply here.

What happens if you boot to DOS and rename the file back again.
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
I've tried to rename the file, but it says it can't find win.old. But wait a minute.I have not been using the quotes, just win.old and win.com. I'll try rename it using the quote marks. That may help. (y)
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
No, it says it can't find win.old or "win.old"
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
You don't use the quotes. Try this, from the c:\> prompt:

dir /s win.old

or

dir /s win.com
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Hi Rog!

I feel like I woke up with 10 thumbs. LOL dir /s win.old did it--but now what do I do. The message was:

Volume in drive C has no label
Volume serial number is 14E4-165E
Win Old 24,791 04-23-99 10:zzp

Do I put in ren win.old win.com after the C prompt?

or do I put in ren "win.old" "win.com" after the C prompt?

Thank you for your time and the info. It is appreciated.

Xico :D
 

xico

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
WOW! THANK YOU! That did it! Thank you! Lordy, I thought I was lost.
Thanks again.

Xico :D
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
With a typical reinstall or overinstall, the win.com file should not need to be renamed. Sounds like what you were trying to do is install a full 98SE ontop of 98 in the form of an upgrade ;)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
From the initial post, it sounds like there was some misinformation about needing to rename win.com before doing a reinstall. Then tried to boot to Windows. All that was needed was the suggestion that the file get named back again. There was then a little confusion about how to exactly do that from DOS.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
xico said:
Hi!

Im running a win98se. I was trying to do a reinstall over the OS. The instructions were if I got an error message saying that it didn't want to do the install I should type in:

c: [enter]
cd windows [enter]
ren "win.com" "win.old" [enter]

This is the part that I was addressing, which created the problem to begin with ;) The message was more than likely along the lines that "this computer already has an operating system............"
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top