1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Can't find WIN.COM

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by xico, Apr 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Hi!

    Im running a win98se. I was trying to do a reinstall over the OS. The instructions were if I got an error message saying that it didn't want to do the install I should type in:

    c: [enter]
    cd windows [enter]
    ren "win.com" "win.old" [enter]

    which I did, but now Im getting a message that says that it can't find win.com, and so it won't boot up.

    any help would be greatly appreciated--or should I just type in C:\ format and be done with it. I've got all the important stuff backed up on D and E.?
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Usually with reinstalls of Win98, you just boot to DOS and run the setup program. There was some old information out there about needing to rename WIN.COM when upgrading with to the old OEM SR2 but this shouldn't apply here.

    What happens if you boot to DOS and rename the file back again.
     
  3. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    I've tried to rename the file, but it says it can't find win.old. But wait a minute.I have not been using the quotes, just win.old and win.com. I'll try rename it using the quote marks. That may help. (y)
     
  4. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    No, it says it can't find win.old or "win.old"
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You don't use the quotes. Try this, from the c:\> prompt:

    dir /s win.old

    or

    dir /s win.com
     
  6. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    Hi Rog!

    I feel like I woke up with 10 thumbs. LOL dir /s win.old did it--but now what do I do. The message was:

    Volume in drive C has no label
    Volume serial number is 14E4-165E
    Win Old 24,791 04-23-99 10:zzp

    Do I put in ren win.old win.com after the C prompt?

    or do I put in ren "win.old" "win.com" after the C prompt?

    Thank you for your time and the info. It is appreciated.

    Xico :D
     
  7. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Type
    Cd\Windows
    Ren win.old win.com
     
  8. xico

    xico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,787
    WOW! THANK YOU! That did it! Thank you! Lordy, I thought I was lost.
    Thanks again.

    Xico :D
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Glad the suggestion of simply renaming the file is what solved the problem.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    With a typical reinstall or overinstall, the win.com file should not need to be renamed. Sounds like what you were trying to do is install a full 98SE ontop of 98 in the form of an upgrade ;)
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    From the initial post, it sounds like there was some misinformation about needing to rename win.com before doing a reinstall. Then tried to boot to Windows. All that was needed was the suggestion that the file get named back again. There was then a little confusion about how to exactly do that from DOS.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706

    This is the part that I was addressing, which created the problem to begin with ;) The message was more than likely along the lines that "this computer already has an operating system............"
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/222574

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice