1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] can't install programs

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Bob1190, Jan 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    I'm running XP Pro

    Every time I try to install a program, My computer reboots. sometimes it starts the install process then it reboots. After it reboots it gives me an error message . I'd like to copy the message but it's a .dmp file.

    tell me what else you need to know and i'll try to give you what you need Thanks a whole lot.

    Bob
     
  2. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
  3. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\VISION~1\ONETOU~2.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Acesoft\Tracks Eraser Pro\te.exe
    C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\Config\Ereg\REMIND32.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\msimn.exe
    C:\Startup\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\Bob & Marlene\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    reminder-ScanSoft Product Registration.lnk = C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\Config\Ereg\REMIND32.EXE
    Check for OneTouch Updates.lnk = C:\Program Files\Visioneer OneTouch\WiseUpdt.exe

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    Norton Personal Firewall.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\IntroWiz.exe
    Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    OneTouch Monitor = C:\PROGRA~1\VISION~1\ONETOU~2.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    PPWebCap = C:\PROGRA~1\ScanSoft\PAPERP~1\PPWebCap.exe
    Tracks Eraser Pro = C:\Program Files\Acesoft\Tracks Eraser Pro\te.exe min

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{2C7339CF-2B09-4501-B3F3-F3508C9228ED}] *
    StubPath = %SystemRoot%\system32\regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:/UserInstall %SystemRoot%\system32\themeui.dll

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = "%ProgramFiles%\Outlook Express\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:WINNT /user /install

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = "%ProgramFiles%\Outlook Express\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WINNT /user /install

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4340}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = %SystemRoot%\system32\ie4uinit.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    Load/Run keys from Registry:

    HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=
    HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=
    HKLM\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=
    HKLM\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=
    HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=
    HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=
    HKCU\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: load=
    HKCU\..\Windows\CurrentVersion\WinLogon: run=
    HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: load=
    HKCU\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: run=
    HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: load=
    HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: run=
    HKLM\..\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows: AppInit_DLLs=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    *INI section not found*
    *INI section not found*
    *INI section not found*

    Shell & screensaver key from Registry:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\System32\logon.scr
    *Registry value not found*

    Policies Shell key:

    HKCU\..\Policies: *Registry key not found*
    HKLM\..\Policies: *Registry value not found*

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    CCHelper - C:\Program Files\Panicware\Pop-Up Stopper Pro\CCHelper.dll - {0CF0B8EE-6596-11D5-A98E-0003470BB48E}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    Uninstall Expiration Reminder.job

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6,222 bytes
    Report generated in 0.401 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    Is it any program or one specific program that has the problem with installing

    Derek
     
  5. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    90% of the programs I try to install will cause it to reboot. I installed Microsoft Office without a hitch. Just downloaded AIM and it woul not install, causesd a reboot. Quickbooks wounot install. Norton Personnal Firewall would not.

    Thank You for your help
     
  6. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    nothing in your startups that i can see would point to anything that would cause your problem....tony klein may see something i missed. how much ram and in what configuration is it?.........eg: 2x128 4x64....how many sticks and what size.
    this could be a memory fault.
     
  7. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    SDRAM:
    1- 8XOS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Version 5.1.2600 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name MYCOMPUTER
    System Manufacturer VIA Technologies, Inc.
    System Model VT82C692BX
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 3 GenuineIntel ~602 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date Award Software International, Inc. 6.00 PG, 6/27/2000
    SMBIOS Version 2.2
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\System32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.0 (xpclient.010817-1148)"
    User Name MYCOMPUTER\Bob & Marlene
    Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
    Total Physical Memory 512.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 389.57 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 1.72 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.52 GB
    Page File Space 1.22 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys
    64-SD-8(T/T)
    1- 8X64-SD 10NS
    1- PC100/128 R
    1- 133/256MB

    ALSO HERE IS SYSTEM SUMARY
     
  8. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    1- 8x64-sd-8 (T/T)
    1- 8x64-sd 10ns
    1- pc100/128 R
    1- 133/256 cl3
     
  9. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Here's a message I get when it reboots.

    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGE_AREA

    *** STOP: 0X00000050 (0XE213C000, 0X00000000, 0X80575645, 0X00000001)

    SOMETIMES IT GOES THROUGH A MEMORY DUMP
     
  10. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    with that ram configuration.......has it been ok in the past?
    its a bit of a mixture:)
    and that bug check 0x50: is usually related to faulty ram.

    i would take out all except the 256 and run it for a day,see if it runs any better.if so add the ram one by one,giving time for anything to become apparent in between.
    another thing could be.....if youve added any hardware recently,remove it and see if the problem recurs.
    i would try the ram though 1st.
    good luck;)
     
  11. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Steve. I'll do what you suggest. It has been running pretty good for a while. Just recently it has been doing strange things. Thanks again. I let you know what happens.


    Bob
     
  12. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Anti virus program was the culprit. Thanks for all the help, Steve
     
  13. Bob1190

    Bob1190 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Apparently, AVG anti virus program and Norton personal firewall conflict with each other. Once I uninstalled AVG, I was able to insall other programs. I also had to go in SAFE MODE and uninstall Nisum.dat. That way I was able to uninstall Norton Personnal Firewall. I'm now using OnTrack System Suite.

    This is a Great web site.

    Thanks to you all.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113552

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice