[Resolved] CDRW Gone

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
My pc was working ok, when I had to go and update my BIOS. I'm running an HP Pavilion 6630. Now I can't find my cdrw drive anywhere. I went to the bios and as far as I know, I have the start up in this order. cdrw, removable devices, and HD. That's the order I think I have.

I can't believe this. Everything seemed to go alright with the BIOS upgrade. I don't know where I went wrong. Any Ideas would be helpful. :confused:

Prospect :)
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Boot into Safe Mode - (tap F8 five times per second during a restart; Choose option number three (3) in the Windows Startup dialog box using the arrow keys below the Delete key, and strike the Enter key; Click Ok when prompted);

Right click My Computer; Point to Properties; Click the Device Manager tab; Click the plus sign beside CDROM; Highlight each device inside CDROM, each in turn, and click the Add/Remove button until no main CDROM entry is present.

Repeat with each device below that, Display Adapters etc. (see exceptions below), removing all entries inside a main heading. If duplicates are present remove all those entries inside a main heading.

Do Not bother Hard Disk Controllers, System Devices, and USB controllers.

Restart via the Start button and Windows will redetect, refresh and only replace those devices needed. There is no use for 2 keyboards, CDROM etc. as those duplicates cause some of the errors you describe.
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
Hey Styxx
My pc doesn't even see the cdrom drive. It's almost like it isn't there.

Prospect
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
Here's another intresting thing. When I plug my other HD in, you can see it. But not the cdrw. I don't get it.:(

Prospect
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
Just for the heck of it. I put my start up floppy in and tried to start with cdrom support. Here's what it said. Device driver not found: "oemcd001"
No vaild cdrom device drivers selected.
And that's all I can find out. I wonder where these drivers went?


Prospect
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
I thought I would try and bring back my system from ghost, but when I do, the new hardward wizard starts up and it's like nothing has any drivers. The only good thing that has happened was my keyboard sound started working again.:(

Prospect
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
Is the CDRW on the same channel (cable) as the hard drive?

If not, you may have to look around in your BIOS setup utility and enable the secondary IDE channel.

when you update your BIOS, it restores to all default settings.....

have a look around in there
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
No Hairy, it's not. It's just got the one ribbon to it's self. I even tried to put the middle connection on the cdrw, but nothing happened. It's like all the drivers dissapered.

Prospect
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
you don't need drivers for the CDRW to be seen by your BIOS....

If your floppy disk can't make the cdrw work, it's either got a bad connection, or maybe just suddenly died.

Do you maybe have another startup floppy you can try?

You can download the program to make one here:
http://bootdisk.com/

make sure you get the one for your correct version of Windows (?)
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
Everything worked just fine until I upgraded the bios. That's when all the fun started. I have the bios starting the cdrom first.
When I put any cd in the drive, I can see it working. But after the lights stop blinking, nothing. It's not in the bios, windows explorer, nowhere.

Prospect
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2000
Messages
113
You never stated whether you did or not, but in the Standard CMOS setup part of the BIOS, did you set either the secondary master or slave to CDROM?
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
It's not showing up. I can see my 2 HD'S, but not the cdrw. I even started the pc with the ribbons and power unplugged, the plugged them back in again with no joy.

Prospect
 

prospect

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
1,354
No Darkman, it's not long enought. For some reason, something isn't picking up that the cdrw is there. I took the ribbons off everything last night just to make sure everything was connected right.

Prospect
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
did you try a different startup floppy?

If you can't make it show up in your BIOS, it'll never work and has nothing to do with drivers

Be sure the cable isn't on upside down and that a pin hasn't been bent at the cdrw's connectors

In the setup program....are the drives set to "AUTO"?

Explain "I can see my 2 hard drives"....

If you had one connected to where the cdrw is now, it sure looks like the cdrw is dead. (or you need to Detect it manually in the setup program)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top