1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Changing Home Page

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by jomary08, Nov 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jomary08

    jomary08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Am unable to change home page...When I click on "internet options" under "tools" the selections to make changes are "grayed out", and "buttons" do not respond when clicked...
     
  2. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Do you mean that on the general tab, the address window is grayed out and you cant type anything in?
     
  3. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    jomary08
    Welcome to TSG!
    If you are using a custom browser supplied by someone other then MS They may have blocked you from changing the home page.
    If you are using IE here is an article I found that guides you through the registry change to reactivate the home page selection.
    Also below that is an MS article addressing it.
    Let us know if that helps you.
    Dave
    Some ISP's provide a customized version of IE. One of the customizations
    they might make is to disable the ability to change the home page, so that
    you are forced to use their home page. You can re-enable this by making a
    small change in the Windows registry.

    In Regedit, navigate to this key:

    KEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel

    In the right-hand pane, right-click the "HomePage" value, then select
    Modify. Change it to:
    00 00 00 00
    When you reboot, you should be able to change the home page again.

    Also
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q195161
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Opps
    Posted at the same time sorry JR!
    Dave
     
  5. xfilesgurly

    xfilesgurly

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Any idea how it happened? (Is there anything in the homepage thing at all?)

    Try clicking "Reset web settings" on the Programs tab or "Restore defaults" on Advanced.
     
  6. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Davey...You're in the zone today man...Run with it. :)
     
  7. jomary08

    jomary08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    42
     
  8. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    jomary08
    Sent an E-mail saying the registry change allowed selection of homepage.

    Glad it worked for you Jomary or is it Mary Jo. :D
    Dave
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60073

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice