1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{RESOLVED}Choppy video

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sdp3501, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    i have the same problem with choppy video! SUCKS! the game "vietnam:black ops" is having the same problems. all other game are fine. the sys req state that direct 3d supported video card is required.....do i have the right card? sorry for butting in but the symptoms are too similar. :)
     
  2. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=308106">

    would the "not available" functions cause these problems?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    the not functional is the problem, has it ever been enabled.

    Your video card is a 2 mb pci version, I really don't think it's going to handle much in the way of gaming. that game asks for around 16mb video memory
     
  4. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    so i need a new video card i guess. any suggestions? cost is an issue! haha this might be a wild question but is there a way to use my hard drive for more video memory?
     
  5. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    sorry no, most standard video cards now have 32meg onboard memory, some 64, and 128's coming
     
  6. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    wow...what a huge gap between my card and the norm! will shop for one today! when installing a new video card what if there are some glitches? i mean should i be able to use THIS computer to reach this site or might there be probs ?
     
  7. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Best to do some research first

    does you machine have an agp port to install a agp card???

    If not you will have to try and find a decent pci one, hard to come by lately

    Another good thing to know is what agp version your machine is, most cards will say if they need rev 1.0 or rev 2.0

    Download pcilist and run it, it will tell you info on agp for your machine.

    you can get it here
    http://www.entechtaiwan.com/

    Generally when installing a new card even if it doesn't work the machine will boot with std vga so you should be able to still use it.
     
  8. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    CPU speed - 200 MHz
    DirectX - not initialized
    AGP revision - no AGP devices found
    VGA IRQ - not assigned
    System board AGP transfer support - n/a
    Graphics card AGP transfer support - n/a
    AGP traffic currently enabled - n/a
    System board SBA - n/a
    Graphics card SBA - n/a
    AGP sideband currently enabled - no
    Pipelined transactions - n/a
    Fast write protocol - n/a

    Devices:
    Intel CPU bridge (71008086h)
    Intel ISA bridge (71108086h)
    Intel IDE controller (71118086h)
    Intel USB (71128086h) - IRQ11
    Intel PM controller (71138086h)
    ESS comm device (2898125Dh) - IRQ12
    VIA USB (30381106h) - IRQ10
    Trident VGA controller (96601023h) - IRQ11

    how much does an agp port run, roughly?
     
  9. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    The system board does NOT support AGP transfers. The graphics card does NOT support AGP transfers.

    AGP transfers are NOT currently enabled.
     
  10. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    ouch, you would at a minimun change motherboards and processors to get an agp port, can't be added on, only built in.

    do you have the make and model number of the machine.

    Really don't know what to say.

    You may be throwing good money after bad, could be time to upgrade to a newer machine.

    If you don't have an agp port you would have to find a pci card.

    But with the 200mhz processor it's hard to say what the performance will be like.

    I would try this one, but hopefully get it from someplace that will allow you to return if it doesn't work

    buy.com link
    http://www.us.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=10216798

    Manufacturers link
    http://www.pny.com/home/products/Vcard_MX400PCI.cfm

    specifications to be able to use

    Minimum System Requirements

    Intel PentiumĀ®, AMD-K6 class processor,or higher
    One available PCI bus slot
    64MB RAM
    A CD-ROM drive
    10MB available disk space
    Windows 95 OSR2, 98, and higher
    Windows NT4.0 with Service Pack 5 or 6 Linux OS
     
  11. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    thanks. sometimes it seems like im trying to locate the airbags in my ford pinto!! your help is very much appreciated!
     
  12. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    i am very happy! i went around town ie. best buy, office depot, curcuit city, and staples. best buy was sold out of all but four vid cards! the one you mentioned was sold out and only available there. circuit city had 32 meg cards for 99 bucks with a $30 rebate. and staples had a pny verto tnt2-m64 32 meg pci card for $ 68 . i went with that one and am very pleased so far. still a ever so slight chop but really a world of difference! could be the processor im thinking as the card has twice the memory that this game needs. also came with a free 1 year replacement warranty!!
     
  13. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    As long as it works for you great, the processor isn't helping.
    The m64 card is considerably slower than the card I mentioned.
     
  14. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    yeah. im going to build me a new system and this one is goin to mom. should be plenty for her and a quick fix for me for now!! thank you again!
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63371

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice