{RESOLVED}CPU usage 100%

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

srg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
8
My Athlon 1.333 with 512 MB RAM has suddenly slowed down. In taskmanager CPU usage is continuously 100%, even with no apps running. I have about 30 processes going, but WinMgmt.exe is the only one showing CPU usage (at 99%). The computer's also running about 5 degrees hotter than normal. A virus scan showed nothing. I've been running zone alarm and Norton antivirus for months with no problem.
Any help or ideas is appreciated!
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
It is running hotter because the app is pegged at 100% and CPU's run hotter the more prcessing they do opposed to sitting idle. Crack the case just in case and look at your cooling situation...that could be causing everything you are describing.
 

srg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
8
Yes, I'm sure the extra heat is from the processor working harder. I keep the case open and everything's normal. With MotherBoardMonitor I'm getting 43 degrees processor temp when I used to get 38. I'm assuming that something is causing WinMgmt.exe to run continuously, stressing the CPU, but I have no idea what could suddenly be doing this.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Is that 43 degrees celcius or ferenheit? I guess 100 F is pretty cool for your athlon. Winmgmt is a performance counter. Is it sitting in your startup group?
 

srg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
8
Yes, it's 43 degrees celcius, which should be cool enough. I'm not sure how to access the startup group but with StartupCPL Winmgmet.exe is not listed as a startup program. I've tried going to Computer Management in Admin Tools of the Control Panel but Computer Management won't open (the other admin tools do). Under 'Application Event Viewer' in Component Services there's a lot of error and warning messages for WinMgmt. What this means I'm not sure.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,097
I think you have some type of virus. Make sure that your Norton av definitions are up to date. You might try running an online virus scan. I just checked on my computer and Winmgmt is running at 0%.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
GO into the services applet and look for the winmgmt service. It is probably set to run as a service when Windoze starts. What does the event log say about the wmgmt errors?
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
It is mainly used for remote monitoring in the enterprise. If this does not describe you, then I would just disable it.
 

srg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
8
You led me right to the problem. WinMgmt.exe was set to run automatically; I changed it to 'manual' and everything went back to normal. Computer running 5 degrees cooler and CPU usage stays way below 30%. And no more crashes. Many thanks!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top