[Resolved] downloading problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

4docj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
30
I am trying to upgrade adobe acrobat and keep getting the following error message. Any suggestions on how to repair this? Running win98, IE5.5. Thanks in advance.

IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
module PLUGIN.OCX at 0167:036e9ac7.
Registers:
EAX=00000002 CS=0167 EIP=036e9ac7 EFLGS=00010206
EBX=0473268c SS=016f ESP=0058c7d0 EBP=0058c860
ECX=0058c8a4 DS=016f ESI=0058c8a4 FS=0daf
EDX=00000062 ES=016f EDI=04099ed4 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
ff 50 50 bf 80 01 04 00 3b c7 0f 85 09 01 00 00
Stack dump:
04099ed4 047326b4 0058c8c4 0473268c 00010000 181fffff 0002e234 a81c0002 00000d4a 016f0000 00020000 00000a70 00000000 00000000 0002e234 e1d80000
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Try running this repair tool:

Internet Explorer 5.x/6.x comes with a repair tool. To use it, go to the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel; Scroll and click to highlight 'Microsoft Internet Explorer 5/6.x' in the Install/Uninstall window; Then click on the Add/Remove button; Select 'Repair' the current installation of Internet Explorer radio button; Click on OK. Restart your computer when prompted.
 

4docj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
30
tried repairing IE, still no luck. Any other suggestions?
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Does Internet Explorer (IE) just do this error only when you're trying to update Adobe Acrobat, when you start Adobe? Just decline.

It might be Adobe not IE
 

4docj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
30
I think its IE because I've found the same error message with other downloads, not just adobe.

I was attempting to download from the adobe website directly. It won't allow "saving target as" when right clicking on the url.

Any other suggestions would be appreciated. ...
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Ensure you're running a hardware or software firewall, if you aren't get free Sygate from http://download.com, type, sygate, in the Search box and press Enter. You must be on-line while installing Sygate.
 

4docj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2000
Messages
30
Thanks for your input.

RollinRog - I followed the instructions on the post you referred me to, deleted the "extension" folder. It seems to have worked.

Downloaded adobe... no problems.

Much appreciated...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Great! Sometimes old Quicktime and other entries get left there which are no longer valid and seem to get in the way of downloads. The right click method bypasses it when it can be done, but as you found that is not always possible.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top