1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] File SCRRUN.DLL is missing

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by max 8, Apr 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Hi. I tried to repair my IE 6 but I'm getting a message that IE6 can not be repaired and set up has to be run again.
    I looked for the details and it said:

    File SCRRUN.DLL is missing
    Iinternet Explorer 6 can could not be repaired.
    Please Run Setup again to reinstall all components.

    The reason I tried to repair IE6 is because I can not open a certain webpage while on line.
    my ISP server is MSN and I'm able to open any page except for the "shared photos" page. I get the page can not be displayed
    error message - Server can not be found.
    I was able to open it the first time, had to download what the call the "upload tool" but midway thru the download, my internet connection froze up. Disconnected the connection and dialed up again. that's when I couldn't open the page anymore.

    Can someone please help me w/ my problem.
    I'm running win98SE.

    btw, I know the page is ok, I can get into it on my other pc.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  3. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Hi. I did the *.cab search and came up w/ the ff:

    Rbbad.cab C:\WINDOWS\SYSBCKUP 5497kb winzip file

    nothing else.

    Should I just follow the directions on the previous post that was resolved?
     
  4. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Update:

    I typed in SFC in the start/Run box, and got the "Extract File" box.
    I entered C:\WINDOWS\SYSBCKUP in the "restore from" window and left the default " C:WINDOWS\SYSTEM in the save file in space. hit ok and got this message in System File Checker box:

    the file was not found. Verify that you have selected the correct "Restore from" location and try again.
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You can get the file through this site:

    http://www.drd.dyndns.org/index2.html

    Click on DLLS then "search...."

    Download the version for your system to c:\windows\system

    What you were finding in sysbckup must have been something else
     
  6. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Hi Rollin Rog.
    I d/l the scrrun.dll from the link and saved it to c:\windows\system.

    Tried to repair my IE6 and got the same MS IE6 Repair box but this time got this error message:

    Version 5.0.0.3715 of file SCRRUN.DLL exists, but the version
    needs to be greater than 5.1.0.5010.

    What do I do next.

    THANKS.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  8. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    I don't mind doing that but will I be able to get online with Internet Explorer uninstalled so that I can download it from MS website.

    In fact, that was what I was going to do until I thought of checking this forum for a quicker solution.

    Rollin Rog, I really appreciate your effort and time in trying to help me with my problem.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You should be able to do so as long as you have a remaining IE installation ( it is supposed to return to the previous version)

    But why not install an alternate browser as a backup. I've used Opera6 recently when I need a backup for IE. It's a fairly simple installation, select the version which includes Java.

    http://www.opera.com/

    edit

    Max, I've found a copy of scrrun.dll version 5.6.0.6626 (this is the IE6 version)

    I can email it to you if you send an email to me, or you can extract it from the zip package contained here:

    http://rain.prohosting.com/zilly/files/full.zip

    You would have to download that to your desktop, unzip the file. You will see inside the zip package a Pro Tools.cab file

    You must then unzip that and you will find a set of IE files, one of which is scrrun.dll. This needs to be copied to your c:\windows\system directory to overwrite the current one.

    You can delete the zip package afterwards, don't use anything else there; don't try running that setup, it's for another program.
     
  10. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Thanks, I'll look into the backup browser.

    So all I need to do is download Internet Explorer 6 (from www.microsoft.com) and it will install over my existing IE6. I do not need to uninstall IE6 to be able to install IE6 again.

    Is that correct?
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    max, see my edit :)

    But the answer to your last question is you would need to uninstall IE6 before reinstalling it. But try getting a copy of that scrrun.dll from the link I posted.
     
  12. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Thanks Rolling Rog.
     
  13. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Quick ?

    Do I install the Pro Tools.cab program on my desktop?
    It telling me that it's a program and if I want to install it.
    It's not a regular zip file that I can just unzzip w/ winzip.
     
  14. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    No don't run any install. I unzipped the Pro Tools.cab file with Winzip and extracted the scrrun.dll with it, so something's not right there. Why not just send me an email and I'll send you a zipped version of the file.

    Or if you want to post your email addy temporarily, that might save time.
     
  15. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/77641

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice