1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Resolved) FP 2002 upload problem

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bj nick, Nov 12, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,792
    When I try to publish my web site update (I've had the site for three years, usually no problem updating), I get the message "server error: cannot close file "/usr/local/apache/htdocs/@l/n/i/name of my site/new_page_5.htm.tmp"

    I've checked on the net a little and it says that error messages such as this usually mean I've exceeded my web space limit, but I haven't...Help!
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,973
    Hiya

    Try deleting all temp files from the program that you used to create the site, in its Temp directory. C:\Windows\Temp folder.

    Is it FrontPage?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,792
    Thanks, Eddie. I tried that but the same result happened. I deleted the frontpage temp directory and pretty much everything else in the temp folder while I was it.

    Any other ideas.....?
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,973
    Okay

    You know when you type new_page_5.htm.tmp, you're not puting a fullstop in by mistake are you? eg

    .new_page_5.htm.tmp is invalid, whereas new_page_5.htm.tmp is not.

    this was replied by an MVP

    See if any of that helps. If not, let me know

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,792
    Well, here's the skinny...it seems that even though my hard drive said the web site was only 8.7mb, a call to [email protected] tech support showed that there really was over 10mb on the site. So...that was the solution. I went back and had to eliminate some of the older images, and then it published just fine.

    Thanks for the assistance; I learned something, at least...
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,973
    Hiya

    Glad its working, and like you said, we've learnt something new.

    See Ya

    eddie
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58395

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice