[Resolved] Getting RID of a Virus!! {W32.weird}

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GregMarchion

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Messages
27
I recently bought Norton Anti-Virus But it won't let me install untill the virus is gone. The Virus name is W32.weird. I already tried House call but It never removed any thing It said It was clean but in truth it was still there. How can I get rid of the virus with out Formatting? Please HELP!!!
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
My advice is go to housecalls & run the free online virus scanner.
Click here to do so!

and to protect yourself from hackers etc... Get Zone Alarm
Click here the free version is fine

then there is spyware ... go get Ad-Aware
Click here to download it


this should get you in shape

Savvy :)
 

GregMarchion

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Messages
27
I already did the House call and It didn't do any thing!! It scanned and said everything was clean. but It wasn't clean at all!
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Because it downloads an update to your system if housecalls said it was clean it most likely was clean of virus and worms... but not spyware...try running after downloading Ad-Aware. This will find the spyware ... some of which is as bad as a trojan.


Savvy :)


[edit] I am sorry.... I missed where you identified the w32. ... when did you run housecall?? What date was it?
 

GregMarchion

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Messages
27
I download the software but when i went to install it said corrupt Installation


tuesday of this week!
 

GregMarchion

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Messages
27
Well I ran the program and I had to reboot. then I choose to run it again and the files came back up as infected
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
We have had some prior successes with InoculateIT in cleaning and restoring literally hundreds of Weird infected files.

You cannot register this, so skip that phase of the install if you use it. It can be updated though through Tools>autodownload, or the "latest exe"


http://cws.internet.com/vdef-inoculate.html

You won't need to update it to clean Weird.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top