1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{RESOLVED}Hard drive size.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cyrilsmith, Dec 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cyrilsmith

    cyrilsmith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    I have swapped my 4gb hdd to a 60gb hdd.I am running windows 98.In start up my bios shows me various things including my hard drive being 60GB but when I am in my computer the size is shown as 25GB. Can anyone help.Please reply in simple jargon as i'm new to this.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi cyrilsmith, welcome to TSG....

    By chance was your hard drive set up for more than one partition? In my computer, do you see more than just the "C" drive? What's all there?
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    What OS are you using and did you FDISK it and set up partitions?
     
  4. cyrilsmith

    cyrilsmith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    I only have c drive as my hdd in my computer.No I didn't run F disk when installing or any pertitioning.Should I do this ?Will my files be erased if I do so. I'm on Windows 98.
     
  5. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    running fdisk from the command prompt will not erase any data, unless you change your partitions. This tool will tell you if there is any of your hard drive that is not partitioned properly.


    http://www.pcabusers.com/fdisk.html is a tutorial on fdisk
     
  6. cyrilsmith

    cyrilsmith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    THANKS.Had to partition and create 4 drives.Loads of space now.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61982

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice