1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] HELP! MY COMPUTER LOST 30 MB OF RAM!!! A G A I N ! ( Presario model 5822)

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by CAMPERSPECIAL, Jul 8, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CAMPERSPECIAL

    CAMPERSPECIAL Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    From my original post which was thought to be resolved: http://forums.techguy.org/t83984/s.html

    It went a-kinda a-like-a- this:

    My computer is a Compaq Presario 5822. It's a few years OLD & came out with 96 MB of RAM. Often I have checked the computer resources and have never noticed that to change until this past week.

    Last week, I had loaded up some new programs & noticed that the thing was running really slow and crashing often.

    After checking my computer properties > (performance tab), I suddenly noticed that the RAM had somehow dropped from 95 MB to 63 MB.:confused: :confused: :confused:

    How can this be?????? I have uninstalled all but one of the programs (from last week (("Real One") Real Player)), with no REAL difference.

    Somehow I have lost 30 MB of RAM.........????? Any ideas on what might be causing this & how to fix it????

    http://forums.techguy.org/t83984/s.html (My previous thread)

    HMMMMM?????>>>>WELL,
    To make a long story short, I (& Rollin Rog) thought that I had inadvertantly managed to reset the BIOS because of my stumbling/bumbling~~~ up his original instructions on entering the BIOS.

    I have since tried to repeat this & did manage to get the display of RAM at the Compaq startup logo. Unfortunately, the MB counter starts counting up to 63(MB) ONLY ! ! !:eek: :( :eek: :rolleyes: :confused:

    I HAVE SINCE TRIED TO REPEAT THE MISTAKES THAT HAD APPARENTLY FIXED THE PROBLEM EARLIER, to no avail......

    Everything worked fine after the first time that the 95 (96mb) came back, until a couple of days ago, when I seemed to notice a slight slowdown.

    The next morning, I fired up "HAL" (my Compaq Presario 5822 W98 SE) & found that HAL had experienced a relapse of his Amnesia:eek:

    Rog, I did finally get into BIOS & reset to defaults, to no effect.

    These are the results of my "DOC MEMORY" test burnin loops (I have no idea what the heck they mean):


    CST DocMemory RAM Diagnostic Test Report 1.45a
    ---------------------------------------------

    CPU Types : GenuineIntel, 686
    RAM SIZE : 95MB (This was originally listed on "DOC MEMORY" as being 63 MB, instead of 95 (I reset an option in this program to test at 95 (it had passed all tests @63MB before)))[/b]


    Base Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * MATS+................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 55AA55AA, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * March B.............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * March C-............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 66996699, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * Checkerboard......................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * Burst................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 00000000, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 1
    * Moving Inversion..................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Base Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * MATS+................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 55AA55AA, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * March B.............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * March C-............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 66996699, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * Checkerboard......................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * Burst................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 00000000, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 2
    * Moving Inversion..................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Base Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * MATS+................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 55AA55AA, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * March B.............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * March C-............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 66996699, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * Checkerboard......................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * Burst................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 00000000, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 3
    * Moving Inversion..................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Base Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * MATS+................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 55AA55AA, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * March B.............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * March C-............................. FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 66996699, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * Checkerboard......................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * Burst................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 00000000, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 4
    * Moving Inversion..................... FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 33CC33CC, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    Base Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 5
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 5
    * Walk Address '0'..................... FAIL
     Addr_Err_Bits: 001FFFFC


    Ext. Memory Test : Burn-In Loop # 5
    * MATS+................................ FAIL
     Addr( 63M), Exp.: 55AA55AA, Act.: FFFFFFFF


    ***** Test Abort *****


    Test Loops : Burn-In-Loop
    Total Passed : 0
    Total Failed : 4
    Test Date : Mon Jul 08 13:10:30 2002
    ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ
     
  2. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
    Have you taken out the ram sticks and reseated them??

    Worth a try.

    spaceman
     
  3. CAMPERSPECIAL

    CAMPERSPECIAL Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    GEEZ ..man, I don't have a clue about RAM STICKS.

    I have taken the cover off & added a CDRW & ZIP drive..

    I have some electronic experience with 20 yr. old tech, but I simply have no reference point to work with in todays computers.

    Hey, I'm pretty decent at repairing the vertical oscillation circuit in an older television set (----------------------):D , but I haven't found any help at catching up with todays computer tech....

    Know of any decent pages that can help me get this kind of basic info????????
     
  4. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
  5. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    If my research is correct, then your system came with two ram modules installed. One 32MB module and one 64MB module. Since the system is only recognizing 64MB it is a good bet that the 32MB module has bit the dust or is loose, corroded, etc. Use the link provided by spaceman to see what the modules look like and how they are installed. (It is really quite simple). Then take them out one at a time and clean the gold leads with a little rubbing alcohol on a paper towel and reinsert them. (Of course make sure the system is off and be sure to ground yourself by touching the case to prevent static electricity before working inside the computer). Restart the computer and see if the problem is solved. If not, remove one module and restart the system again. If the system will not boot with the module left in the computer then that is the defective module. If it does boot normally then the one you took out is defective. You can go HERE to order a replacement. Just follow the instructions to find the right one. It should be PC100 SDRAM NON-PARITY CL=2. 32MB costs $20.69, 64MB-$23.99,
    128MB-$25.19. Shipping is free.

    Hope this helps.

    Kilowatt
     
  6. CAMPERSPECIAL

    CAMPERSPECIAL Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    ((((chuckling like a hyena))));)

    That does make some inside "Riddling" sense.

    I have a workplace which contains a lot of dust/chemical contaminants (dirty office). Besides, I am a chain smoker.

    It is very possible that dust contaminants have gotten into the extremely sensitive circuitry and caused this problem. Well done, brothers ! ! !

    <i>It reminds me of the time (several years past) that I was given an old "ASTEROIDS" archade game (still got it). Twenty-five cents to blast the asteroids.

    Anyhow, the guy who previously owned it, had no real idea about the inner workings of electronics & decided to spray WD-40 (the lubricant) on all of the contacts <b>"to get a good connection" (his words). He gave the game to me after much frustration & a near trip to the landfill. </b>

    I was able to clean the machine up & never told him why it stopped working (he would have wanted it back). </i>

    By the way, what's an old archade "Asteroid" game worth these days???? This ancient machine surely dates back to the early/mid 1980's. I know I would be a millionaire if I had taken all those quarters & invested in Walmart Stock/Tyson/MSN:confused: :confused: :confused:

    Anyhow, thanks guys. I'll give it a try & see what happens
     
  7. CAMPERSPECIAL

    CAMPERSPECIAL Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Yep!!!

    Kilo-space.. I think that that turned the ticket!!!

    After you all said that I might have a bad connection, I punched the ol CPU with my fist!!!!! (<b>good move)</b>

    Now, the old Compaq didn't respond & give me any kind of immediate result, but the next morning, I turned it on & got some kind of black screen message that talked about a memory error.. and that it was now being corrected.....

    <b><i>Well, 1000 spacemans,</b></i> I noticed the counter go all the way up to 95 (MB) & then go into windows..(98 SE) ! ! !

    <b>I haven't had a problem since ! ! !</b>

    When I was rappin with "rollin Rog & the others," I had forgot to tell them that I had kicked the cpu.....in a mad Vodka fit! Amazing how a swift kick in the AS* CAN CURE A VARIETY OF ILLS!

    Anyhow, apparently I rattled the RAM STICKS a bit & caused a better contact. The system didn't recognize until the next day (after I restarted).

    I do intend to take off the cover & remove these components to clean them properly. I will take the precautions to ground myself out (static electricity), before I do this.

    Thanks again, TECH POSTERS,.........<br><i><b><font color="red"><font size="4">Tech Rules ! ! ! ...</b></font size></font color></i>
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/86362