1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Help need to free up RAM!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Darg_mals, Feb 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    192.0 MB 69% free (Let Windows manage my Virtual Memory settings) 0 min No max Running Windows Me

    RAM drops to 41% when I have Zone alarm on. I do have Norton Anti Virus 2003, but have been told I should also have firewall protection, but ever since I downloaded Zone alarm it has slowed up the system considerably among other problems. I have deleted temporary internet files. Ran Spybot and am clear there. Did a window wash. Have taken several things off startup (I am in selective start-up mode). Is there anything else I can do? Is the firewall that important? We had the computer in a while ago and increased our RAM and memory, and I think we are maxed out. Is there anyway I can bump up the RAM? Or I am just expecting to much and simply can't have all these programs for the system that we have?

    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor Intel(r) Celeron (tm) GenuineIntel ~366Mhz
    BIOS Phenix BIOS 4.0 Release 6.0.7
    Total Physical Memory 191.43 MB
    Available Physical Memory 252.0 KB

    Total Virtual Memory 2 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.69 GB

    Page File Space 1.81 GB

    C: 19.07 GB
    Free 11.44 GB

    D: 4.01 GB
    Free 3.85 GB

    E: CD Rom
     
  2. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    OOPS! Posted in wrong spot
     
  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    First, what are you using to determine "available" ram? Some people confuse it with "System Resources", and these are not the same.

    If you are really referring to ram, you should not be concerned at all. Windows will use as much of it as it can efficiently use because that is how it runs best.

    Even if the figure is for System Resources, it is not necessarily a sign for alarm if the figure is occuring after a period of use. It would be very low if seen immediately after startup.

    If you post a "startup list" using the StartupList application from the site below, it may lead to some good suggestions:

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

    Just unzip, run it and copy/paste the results to a reply.
     
  4. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    Pretty weird value :confused:
    Total Physical Memory 191.43 MB

    What did you use to get it? What does it indicate for ram if you hit the Win-Break key combination (or use some other method to get to the General Tab of systm properties)?
     
  5. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    OK Thank-you Rollin' Rog

    192.0 MB of RAM
    System Resources 45% free

    Is this not related? All I know is when % drops system becomes very slow and when that starts happening I start getting System Is Dangerously Low in Resources. So I thought it was important to check this and was referring to the amount of RAM available. No?

    Here is the list:

    StartupList report, 04/02/2003, 11:40:21 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\ADVTOOLS\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGLOOP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSG32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATITASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATICWD32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MLH\LAUNCHER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\EASY CD CREATOR 5\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACRORD32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\MY DOCUMENTS\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    PowerReg Scheduler.exe

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    NPROTECT = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\ADVTOOLS\NPROTECT.EXE
    ccApp = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    ccRegVfy = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    Advanced Tools Check = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\ADVTOOLS\ADVCHK.EXE
    QuickTime Task = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    Atikey = Atitask.exe
    AtiCwd32 = Aticwd32.exe
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe
    Hidserv = Hidserv.exe run
    Launcher = "C:\Program Files\MLH\launcher.exe" /P
    AdaptecDirectCD = "C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe"
    CreateCD50 = C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\ADAPTE~1\CREATECD\CREATE~1.EXE -r

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    NPROTECT = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\ADVTOOLS\NPROTECT.EXE
    ccEvtMgr = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    TrueVector = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 3/2/2003, 21:30:32)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\VSDATA95.VXD=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\~GLH0008.TMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job
    {3F24C109-4B78-4A07-9334-B3A763CDB7F0}_CHARLOTTE.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [YInstStarter Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

    [QuickTime Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R932/V31Controls/x86/mil/en/actsetup.cab

    [CCMPGui Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CCMP392.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://64.124.45.181/chaincast/proxy/CCMP.cab

    [HeartbeatCtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\HRTBEAT.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/zone/Z4/heartbeat.cab

    [SurferNETWORK Plugin]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\SURFER~1.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://rd1.surfernetwork.com/surferplugin.ocx

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37610.8023958333

    [MSN Chat Control 4.5]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT45.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab

    [Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RUFSI.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab

    [ChainCast VMR Client Proxy]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CCPM_0237.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://64.124.45.181/downloads/ccpm_0237.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 7,187 bytes
    Report generated in 0.559 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  6. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    IMM

    I get that by going to run msinfo32 maybe its weird because when they installed memory(or whatever it is called) we bought they said they had to create another drive, not really sure.
     
  7. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    My first guess is that ZA isn't getting along well with the way norton is set up. Which version of ZA is this (and is it the free or the pro)?
     
  8. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Its free Version 3.1.395
     
  9. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    I'm thinking I posted to much information on the start-up menu, is that safe?:eek:
     
  10. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Oh and thank-you for moving my post to the right spot :eek: :D
     
  11. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    I'm unfortunately not very familiar with norton AV 2003 - so perhaps someone will jump in and help. In earlier norton schemes they installed an intermediate server to handle email (it's likely more extensive now). Have you tried disabling the email protection within ZA as a start? I think that (from within ZA) you should also set it not to start at windows startup as a test. After a reboot - start ZA manually. Does that improve the browsing?
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If you are receiving that warning it is related to low System Resources rather than ram.

    Here is an explanation of the difference:

    http://www.pcnineoneone.com/howto/resources1.html

    http://www.forrestandassociates.co.uk/pcforrest/resources.html

    You still have a number of startups there that could be disabled in msconfig. I would recommend unchecking these:

    Quicktime
    LoadQm
    AdaptecDirectCD
    CreateCD
    PowerReg

    Launcher ?? Not really clear what this is, scanner perhaps?

    You can review info regarding these using the site below:

    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_pages/startup_full.htm

    The adaptec stuff does not need to load at startup and can be run when desired from the Start Menu > Programs directory.
     
  13. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Once again I received some great information and was recommended to view some fantastic web sites. I get the RAM versus resources thing now. Thank-you very much for your time and help, appreciate it!


    According to that site your recommended Launcher launcher.exe is Spyware component related to DownloadWare and found in Program Files\KFH although mine is Program Files\MLH\launcher.exe "/P It is some clever dating pop up ad thing I have aquired that spybot doesn't pickup.

    Is it ok that all that startup information is listed here could someone access or harm any files with that information?
     
  14. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Don't worry, there is nothing in the startuplist that is exploitable.

    Is there a entry in Add/Remove programs for DowloadWare or Launcher? If so I would use that to remove it.

    If not you can remove the startup entry permanently from the registry by running regedit

    Navigate to the entry:

    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    >> highlight the RUN folder in the left hand pane and look in the right for its entry. You can right click on that then and delete it. If you have previously unchecked the entry in msconfig you will find the entry in the RUN- folder rather than Run.

    After rebooting you should then be free to delete the MLH folder at your convenience.
     
  15. Darg_mals

    Darg_mals Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Alrighty then thanks again for your help Rollin' Rog :cool: I'll figure out this computer stuff yet! Especially since I get to talk all the the computer wizards here.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117131

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice