1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{RESOLVED}Help with NHL 2001

Discussion in 'Games' started by Matthew Bartley, Dec 27, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Matthew Bartley

    Matthew Bartley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    Hi, hopefully someone can help me.....
    I installed NHL 2001 correctly, but when I put the cd in and try to get the game going I get an ABORT MESSAGE THAT SAYS THE FOLLOWING:
    THRASH_OPENDLL- LOAD LIBRARY FAILED ON "Z"
    GETLASTERROR CODE IS 1157.
    CHECK THIS DLL IS INSTALLED. DIRECT VERSION IS 8.

    WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO GET THE GAME RUNNING?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
  3. Matthew Bartley

    Matthew Bartley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51

    Hi, I'm running version 8
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Okay

    Lets see what type of video card you have.

    Go to ControlPanel | System. Device Manager

    Under Display, can you tell me the name of the video card? You may have to expand the + to find out.

    Also, what OS are you using?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. Matthew Bartley

    Matthew Bartley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    UNDER SYSTEMS, display adapter, it reads:

    INTEL(R)810e Chipset Graphics Driver PV1.1 (DC133)
     
  6. Matthew Bartley

    Matthew Bartley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    OS: windows 98SE
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Okay

    You have onboard graphics and it says it supports 3D, but I have found a reply from someone with the exact same problem. In fact, its the only one I could find on the newsgroups.

    It mentions putting your Display to 32-bit colour. To do this, go to Control Panel | Display. Settings, and then change the colour settings.

    However, there are a variety of answers here:

    Have you tried running it manually using the nhl.exe manually from Windows Explorer?

    Is it the full game and not the demo?

    Someone again ran EASports 3Dsetup executable, which I assume is the one in Windows Explorer.

    Anyway, it seems that the final method of the exe worked with everyone. Can you try that first, and if still no joy, let me know.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  8. Matthew Bartley

    Matthew Bartley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    I went to change the colors, but mine only goes up to 24 bit color.....I'm thinking its the video card?
     
  9. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Hiya

    Mine goes to 24 as well. Maybe it was a typo.

    Anyway, I have found the drivers:

    http://developer.intel.com/design/software/drivers/platform/810.htm?iid=PCG+devside&

    but, you say you have version PV1.1. Well, right at the bottom is the only ones with 1.1, but they're only for 810 not 810e. Can you confirm this?

    What it does is asks you to install a Utility first:

    http://developer.intel.com/design/software/drivers/platform/inf.htm

    Then to install the driver, but lets just confirm the full version first before you do.

    Did you have a go at the running of the game manually through nhl.exe in the Windows Explorer? That worked for a lot of people.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  10. Matthew Bartley

    Matthew Bartley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks for the help.....running the 3d set up did it......
    I'll try to score a goal in your name.....

    Matt
     
  11. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,669
    Hiya

    Glad its working, but you said the 3d setup. was that the nhl.exe that I mentioned at the end?

    Go for those goals!!!!!

    eddie
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63162

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice