{RESOLVED}Help with NHL 2001

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Matthew Bartley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2001
Messages
51
Hi, hopefully someone can help me.....
I installed NHL 2001 correctly, but when I put the cd in and try to get the game going I get an ABORT MESSAGE THAT SAYS THE FOLLOWING:
THRASH_OPENDLL- LOAD LIBRARY FAILED ON "Z"
GETLASTERROR CODE IS 1157.
CHECK THIS DLL IS INSTALLED. DIRECT VERSION IS 8.

WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO GET THE GAME RUNNING?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

Lets see what type of video card you have.

Go to ControlPanel | System. Device Manager

Under Display, can you tell me the name of the video card? You may have to expand the + to find out.

Also, what OS are you using?

Regards

eddie
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

You have onboard graphics and it says it supports 3D, but I have found a reply from someone with the exact same problem. In fact, its the only one I could find on the newsgroups.

It mentions putting your Display to 32-bit colour. To do this, go to Control Panel | Display. Settings, and then change the colour settings.

However, there are a variety of answers here:

Have you tried running it manually using the nhl.exe manually from Windows Explorer?

Is it the full game and not the demo?

Someone again ran EASports 3Dsetup executable, which I assume is the one in Windows Explorer.

Anyway, it seems that the final method of the exe worked with everyone. Can you try that first, and if still no joy, let me know.

Regards

eddie
 

Matthew Bartley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2001
Messages
51
I went to change the colors, but mine only goes up to 24 bit color.....I'm thinking its the video card?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Mine goes to 24 as well. Maybe it was a typo.

Anyway, I have found the drivers:

http://developer.intel.com/design/software/drivers/platform/810.htm?iid=PCG+devside&

but, you say you have version PV1.1. Well, right at the bottom is the only ones with 1.1, but they're only for 810 not 810e. Can you confirm this?

What it does is asks you to install a Utility first:

http://developer.intel.com/design/software/drivers/platform/inf.htm

Then to install the driver, but lets just confirm the full version first before you do.

Did you have a go at the running of the game manually through nhl.exe in the Windows Explorer? That worked for a lot of people.

Regards

eddie
 

Matthew Bartley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2001
Messages
51
Thanks for the help.....running the 3d set up did it......
I'll try to score a goal in your name.....

Matt
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Glad its working, but you said the 3d setup. was that the nhl.exe that I mentioned at the end?

Go for those goals!!!!!

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top