1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] IE 6.0 causes Unknown error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Pecky27, Feb 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pecky27

    Pecky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Several weeks ago I downloaded IE 6.0 and for a few days all was fine. Then several times a day I get a dialog box that says
    "Explorer has caused an error in (Unknown)
    "Explorer will close now"
    If the problem continues, try restarting your computer"
    I have restarted and it still happens. I also went to add/delete and opened internet explorer and clicked on repair, but that hasn't helped either. It is frustrating when doing a project and they you lose it. This is happening on my desktop, not signed on the internet. Yesterday I was making a greeting card and in the middle of it the dialog box came on. I had to click on and lost all my work. Need your help. Thanx, Vince Morgano:mad:
     
  2. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
  3. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Can you click on a details button and supply all the details of the error??
     
  4. Pecky27

    Pecky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    I tried the URL you recommended and it didn't help me much. I could not find anything to compare with my problem. Most of the errors showed some details the dialog box I get does not have a detail button. Thanx. Vince.
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It's quite likely a problem with ad or spyware installations. Could you download, unzip and run the StartupList application from the site below, then copy/paste the results to a reply.

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

    You will also see a download for Spybot there. You should download and install that as well. Then click the "Online" tab and update it by accepting all updates except for the PGP and Language
    tools.

    Hold off on running it until we see the startuplist.
     
  6. Pecky27

    Pecky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Per your very good instructions here is Startuplist Application

    StartupList report, 2/11/2003, 2:26:57 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPSYSDRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COOKIE WASHER\AOLWASHER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\MEDIA MANAGER\AIRSVCU.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ULEAD SYSTEMS\ULEAD PHOTO EXPRESS 2 SE\CALCHECK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONSCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMUSBKB2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0\AOL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0\WAOL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    Media Manager Indexer.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Media Manager\AIRSVCU.EXE
    Introducing Media Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Media Manager\SPLASHA.EXE
    Photo Express Calendar Checker SE.lnk = C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead Photo Express 2 SE\CalCheck.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    hpsysdrv = c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    MotiveMonitor = C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
    Keyboard Manager = C:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
    TkBellExe = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    mgavrtclexe = C:\WINDOWS\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrte.exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Taskbar Display Controls = RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    ccWasher = C:\Program Files\Cookie Washer\aolwasher.exe /0
    ContentService = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\winservn.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.INI listing:
    (Created 11/2/2003, 8:16:46)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\irsetup.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 10/2/2003, 13:38:50)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\3DCHRI~2.DAT
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\3DCHRI~1.DAT
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\3DCHRI~1.SCR

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET CLASSPATH=C:\PROGRA~1\PHOTOD~1.1\ADOBEC~1

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ACCELERATION SOFTWARE\STOPSIGN\WEBCBROWSE0..DLL - {6ACD11BD-4CA0-4283-A8D8-872B9BA289B6}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RUFSI.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://security1.norton.com/SSC/SharedContent/sc/bin/cabsa.cab

    [loader Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\COMLOAD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://dload.ipbill.com/del/loader.exe

    [CBSTIEPrint Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BSTIEPRINTCTL1.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://offers.brightstreet.com/cif/download/bin/actxcab.cab

    [ContentAuditX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CONTEN~1.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805...ch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab

    [AOL Downloader Plugin]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YGPPICDOWNLOAD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://pak01.pictures.aol.com/ygp/aol/plugin/download/YGPPicDownload.1.0.9.14.cab

    [Loader Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MACONNECT.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://connect.online-dialer.com/MaConnect.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37639.3189467593

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RDXIE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/238081957cf18e2d1018/netzip/RdxIE601.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6,652 bytes
    Report generated in 0.621 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    As Rog's not on line right now, allow me to jump in.

    You have a number of dodgy items: eAcceleration foistware, Purity Scan (ContentService/Winservn.exe), and a dialer.

    Do this:

    Download Spybot - Search & Destroy

    After installing, press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

    Next, go to Settings > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds.

    NOTE: SSD will sometimes not be able to remove all active components in the first 'run'.
    In that case you will get a dialog asking you to run SSD at next start.
    Click yes and reboot.
    Subsequently SSD will come up before the system puts these components 'in use', and it will then be able to 'fix' the rest.

    When you've done all that, test your system, and see whether your problem is gone.
     
  8. Pecky27

    Pecky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Rog/Tony. Many thanks for your help. This morning everything seem to be running smoothly, no error messages. Your instructions were very easy to follow (for an 80 yrs. old) and I am very happy that I found you Tech Guys. Thanks again. Vince.:D
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You're welcome, Vince! :)

    Glad to hear that appears to have solved your problem.

    Cheers,
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118099

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice