[Resolved] IE error message "Action canceled"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
When I access certain web sites IE gives me a message that does not fit in its box as follows:

i Action canceled
Internet Explorer ws unable to li
requested. The page might be tem

The message can only be eliminated by rebooting. I tried upgrading from 5.5 to 6.0 but it still appeared.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi Jimtalbert,
When this happens can you press F5 on your keyboard? This will refresh the page. If that still fails try repairing IE. Go to Start, Settings, Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs. Look for IE5.0or 5.5
Click on it , select add/remove. When the box pops up select repair. See if that works. Some sites are tuff to get into.
 

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
Hi, TW56. Thanks for the suggestions. Unfortunately, I didn't have any luck with F5 or with the IE repair. The error message is staring at me as I type this. I probably need to uninstall and reinstall IE.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

Tell me, why 'didn't you have any luck' with IE repair? What happened?

But you say the problem persisted even after you upgraded to the 6.0, so I don't think, that, even if you were to succeed in running IE repair this would change anything.

It might well be a cache or cookie problem.
I think you first ought to do this:

Reboot your computer. Press and hold down F8 while the computer boots to display the Startup menu.

Choose Command Prompt Only, and then press ENTER

Type the following items, pressing ENTER after each item:

smartdrv
cd\windows
deltree tempor~1
deltree history
deltree cookies

NOTE: Press Y if you are prompted to confirm any deletion

Type win (or 'exit') followed by clicking enter in order to return to Windows.

Also go to Start/Find/files or folders, and search for a file called HOSTS (not HOSTS.SAM which is a sample file).
If you find it, open it and delete all web page entries.

Good luck,
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
I forget, also do this:

Go to Tools/Internet Options/Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
Go to the Security tab, and click restore defaults there as well.


Good luck,
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
"Action canceled" does suggest a security issue. In addition, do you have any "Content Advisor" settings in effect?
 

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
Thanks, everyone, for your suggestions. Tony, when I say nothing happened following the IE repair, I mean in terms of desired results. The repair was accomplished but the error message is still there.
I'm reluctant to delete my cookies because I have so many that I depend on, but it may come to that.
I also thought it might be ContentAdvisor but I have never knowingly done anything with that. I checked that tab and the "Enable" button is displayed so I don't think Content Advisor is involved.
Maybe an additional bit of information will help.
The box which is too small for the message has a white background. The box appears and the text slides into it from the right side of the screen. Once it appears, it can't be moved or deleted. No unusual programs seem to be running that might produce and retain it. It stays until I reboot, even appearing on the desktop after IE is closed. It is always in the same spot. I can replicate it at any time by displaying the following URL (for example):
http://www.tdwaterhouse.com/
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I tried loading that page and it almost fully loaded, but never quite completed. I didn't wait long enough for it to timeout though.

I right clicked on it and chose "view source" the last part of the code was for a so-called "clear gif". These are used as "web bugs" for site tracking purposes.

Do you have any software for detecting and removing them? (Bugnosis is one)

The first part of the page load is for the login.asp... do you get that far?

Try the right click>view source and see what turns up in the page coding that might give a clue.

Finally, this sounds like it might be a java applet, try disabling the Java VM in internet options>security
 

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
Hi, Rollin' Rog. Thanks for the suggestions. I disabled Java but that didn't help. I don't have software of the type you mentioned. I did check the URLs Tony posted and the Google group post indicated that the individual who posted this same problem found the solution in a particular IE release "2479". I tried to e-mail him but the message keeps coming back undelivered. Does anyone know what release that might be?

Thanks!
 

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
I've had no luck so far solving this mystery. I recently installed a Discover Card applet called DiscoverShop. When I open it the error message appears, even when IE is not running. However, when I close the applet the error message goes away, unlike previous instances.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Jim, have you done an updated antivirus scan?

Also there is a lot of "spyware" and "ad-ware" going around which does things like try to place links in web pages you visit.

It might help to have a look at what is loading and running. You can post that by going to start and running msinfo32

Click on "software environment" and "startup programs"

Then click edit>select all>edit>copy and paste the copied text in your next reply.
 

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
Thanks, Rog. I'm repeating your questions below with my answers.

Have you done an updated antivirus scan?
Yes, no luck.

Also there is a lot of "spyware" and "ad-ware" going around which does things like try to place links in web pages you visit.
What software will prevent this? I have Norton SystemWorks and Norton Internet Security but don't think either has that capability (not sure).

It might help to have a look at what is loading and running. You can post that by going to start and running msinfo32 Click on "software environment" and "startup programs" Then click edit>select all>edit>copy and paste the copied text in your next reply.

GoBack Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Roxio\GoBack\GBTray.exe"
Quicken Startup Startup Group "C:\Program Files\QUICKENW\QWDLLS.EXE"
Norton System Doctor Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\SYSDOC32.EXE" /STARTUP
Microsoft Office Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE" -b -l
Billminder Startup Group "C:\Program Files\QUICKENW\BILLMIND.EXE" -startup
Connection Manager Startup Group "C:\Program Files\CManager\CManager.exe"
Controller Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Symantec\WinFax\WFXCTL32.EXE"
Taskbar Display Controls Registry (Per-User Run) RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
EnsoniqMixer Registry (Machine Run) starter.exe
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
CriticalUpdate Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
EN4060C TaskBar Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\en4060ct.exe
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
QAGENT Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\QUICKENW\QAGENT.EXE
STBWEBTV Registry (Machine Run) c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STBWEBTV.EXE
DSS Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\BBStore\DSS\dssagent.exe
Tweak UI Registry (Machine Run) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
NAV Agent Registry (Machine Run) c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NAVAPW32.EXE
NPROTECT Registry (Machine Run) c:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
SandIcon Registry (Machine Run) C:\ImageMate CompactFlash USB\SandIcon.Exe
DiscoverDeskshop Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\DISCOV~1\Deskshop.exe /dontopenmycards
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
Tweak UI Registry (Machine Service) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakLogon
ScriptBlocking Registry (Machine Service) "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
CSINJECT.EXE Registry (Machine Service) c:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
NPROTECT Registry (Machine Service) c:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
SymTray - Norton SystemWorks Registry (Machine Service) c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
GoBack Polling Service Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\Roxio\GoBack\GBPoll.exe
 

Jimtalbert

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
214
I tried attaching .bmp files showing the two error messages but they are too large. I have them in both .bmp and WORD formats if anyone would like me to e-mail them.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top