1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] IE Suddenly Can't Find the Internet (Server Not Found)

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Gnosisless, Dec 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gnosisless

    Gnosisless Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    482
    Here's another IE6 related problem....

    When I am surfing with multiple IE windows open, IE will occasionally lose contact with reality. New addresses entered or links clicked will produce a Server Not Found error. When one window does this, other windows may temporarily work for a while.

    Refreshing the page does not work. Clicking Detect Network Settings does not work.

    If I close the existing windows, new windows work normally (for a while).

    I haven't been able to pin down anything I'm doing that could contribute to this; although I do use ZoneAlarm Pro, IE has full permission to access.

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
     
  2. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Is this a cable connection and are you on a network?
    If so, Open IE, go to tools, Internet option, connections, Lan settings. Check to make sure Auto detect settings, Use auto config script and Use proxy are NOT checked. These items should only be checked if you provider specificaly requested you check them.
    I had this prob on my 2nd machine until I changed these settings.

    Hope this helps
     
  3. Gnosisless

    Gnosisless Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks, Rugrat!

    I do have a cable modem, and I tried disabling Auto-Detect Network Settings.


    So far (knock wood), that seems to have done the trick.

    Odd that having an "automatic" feature would be less automatic than not.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    What operating system are you running?
     
  5. Gnosisless

    Gnosisless Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    482
    Windows ME, Tony.

    The problem seems to be fixed, thanks to Rugrat.

    Apparently "Automatically Detect Network Settings" is enabled by default, as this PC had never been on a network until the cable modem was installed, and the cable guy didn't touch those settings.
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Good to hear!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [Resolved] Suddenly Can't
  1. normalestimate1
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    726
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62788

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice