(Resolved) Inability to Log-on to Internet Bank & Vanguard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Fransey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Messages
33
Suddenly, on Friday 17 Jan 03, I am unable to log-on to Secure Log-in page of Internet Banking
and Vanguard.com. I can reach the sites OK but when the
Log-in page attempts to surface, it gets
86% of the way, then freezes there.
**I have no trouble getting on any other site.

1998 SONY Vaio 220, 159 RAM, Pent II,
MSWin98 2nd Ed.
AOL V6.

*I had a Security Red X Alert under Internet Options,
SECURITY, but
cleared that by adjusting the Hardware Accelerator.

I've had that problem for years, but ignored it since it
didn't cause any other problems that I know of.
That did not cure the Log-in problem, but where the
Logon page
attempted to surface by 30% before freezing, it now
attempts to surface by 86% before freezing.
Question: Is it possible that this is the problem?

I tested Vanguard & Banking Log-in by using the Library free
access and I can log-on to these sites immediately. So, it's
definitely in my setup...or AOL6. I checked with AOL & they
ran me through cache clearing & so forth...no success there.
Their standard phrase: Call the mfg: SONY.
I e-mailed SONY & they referred me to telephone help.
Called that but they don't list help for 1998 SONY 220, leaving
me with a dial tone.

I have not downloaded anything significant in the past
month.

Question: Can you advise me on what procedure to
follow to be able to connect to log-on to my Log-in pages of
Internet Bank & Vanuard.com?
 

Fransey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Messages
33
I am suddenly unable to bring up log-in page of Internet
Banking and Vanguard.com. I can go to each
of their sites and link to anywhere within them,
but when I try to bring up the log-in page, it
will not surface and allow access to the Secure
pages. It tries to surface, then freezes there. I
can exit out of it easily.

I've cleared caches & done everything AOL suggested.

Can anyone help me with this problem?
SONY Vaio 220, RAM159, AOL6, IE
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Click on Start | Find | Files, key in Hosts and press enter. You're looking for a file called just Hosts with no file extension. You'll find a file called Hosts.sam but that's not the problem. If you do find a file called just Hosts, rename it Hosts.old and then try the pages. Be sure to close all instances of IE before you retry the pages.

Also, do a quick cleanup:

Go to Tools | Internet Options. General tab. Under Delete Files, delete offline content. Also, clear the History.

Content tab, under AutoComplete, clear Forms and Passwords.

Advanced tab, under Browsing, look for Enable Insta on Demand. Untick.
Under Security, look for Empty Tempory Internet... Tick.
Apply and OK

Go to Find Files and type in cookie. When found, open the folder, and delete all the cookies found. You won't be able to delete the .dat file found.

For this, go here and get the Spider:

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=55214&highlight=Spider


Regards

eddie
 

Fransey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Messages
33
Eddie: RE Inability to access Log-in Page

1. : No file called HOSTS
2. Did Internet Options deletions
Cleared all contents.
3. Cleared all Forms and Passwords
4. Advanced..unticked Insta on Demand
5. Security..Ticked Empty Temporary Internet Apply OK
6. Cookies: Restricted site: would not allow deleting of
the contents of this file. (Some 700 cookies)
7. Spider ??? Copied & pasted link: Result: ERROR404
File not found.

Finish: Checked Vanguard.com & attemped to log in...NO LUCK

Question: Since this did not work, should I go back and Enable Insta on Demand? or redo anything I may have disrupted?

I appreciate any help. bye. Francey
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
If you just click on the link, instead of copy/paste, it will open a new window.

As for the Enable Install on Demand, its best to leave this off, to prevent programs being installed without you knowing.

Go to Run and type MSINFO32
On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

Also, go here and download SpyBot:

http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/

eddie
 

Fransey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Messages
33
Eddie:
I try to access and log into the secure sites, that have been blocked to me, several times each day, and as of late this morning, was unable to.

Then tonight, I tried again and lo and behold, the log-in page came up and I was able to access the secure site...not once,
but twice...I am certainly hoping that whatever caused the
blockage and freezing of this secure area is no longer there and I will be free to access it from now on...

After almost two weeks of this aggravation, I'm so relieved
that the sites are now accessible.

It is really wonderful that others will readily take the time to share their expertise to solve sticky problems and I do thank you for your help..

I intend to download the Spybot and study it and learn what
it has to offer. Thanks again. BYe. Francey
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Fransey, please just reply to this one thread. I've merged the other to it; multiple threads for the same problem only cause duplication and confusion.
 

Fransey

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Messages
33
So sorry about that...
When I got no replies at that site I figured I was in the
wrong place.....so posted in this site where I immediately
received help.

I'll be very careful in the future about that and make sure
I delete any former post before I enter a new area.
Thanks for your reminder. Bye. Francey
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Thats good to hear, but if it comes back let us know. :)

Spbot is a good program. If you have any questions about it, many here use it all the time.

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top