1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] incompatible version of rpc stub

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by tbuzer, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tbuzer

    tbuzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    can someone please help me? I cannot print any e-mails or web pages. It keeps saying incompatible version of the rpc stub. my printer will only print adobe files. i would appreciate any suggestions. thanks i have windowsME
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Sometimes this issue is related to the version of dispex.dll being used and an older version must be reverted to. Do a file search for that, right click on it and select Properties > Version. Let us know the version number.

    One thread that resolved the problem is here:

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?postid=868100#post868100

    Unfortunately I've seen some WinME cases that required that required more drastic action, including ripping out IE completely to reinstall. What version do you have currently? And have you tried running the IE Repair Tool?

    http://help.att.net/docs/howto/othe...air-tool.htm?customercontent=customer_browser
     
  3. tbuzer

    tbuzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I have already run the IE repair tool with no luck. I tried to download the link http://gamescheatscodes.com/dllaj/dispex.dll and all it says is unable to locate the file to download. My version number is 5.1.0.4615 I am using IE 6
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    That is a WinME/IE 5.5 version of the file. I don't know whether replacing it will correct this problem or not. The method, unfortunately, is rather difficult.

    I can e-mail you a zipped IE 6 compatible version. You will have to unzip it, copy it to a floppy disk. Then you will have to use a WinME boot disk to reach an a:> prompt. At the a:> prompt you put the floppy in which has dispex.dll and enter these commands:

    ren c:\windows\system\dispex.dll dispex.old
    copy a:\dispex.dll c:\windows\system.

    Then remove the floppy and reboot.

    You will have to PM me with an e-mail address if you want to try this.

    For what it's worth you can see how we went head to head with this same problem in a WinME OS and only finally resolved the problem by doing a complete rip of IE.

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?t=210835

    If you go that route be SURE you have an alternate browser installed first AND are on good terms with System Restore. Create a check point after installling and using a new browser.
     
  5. tbuzer

    tbuzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    thank you so much!!! The IEradicator worked. I am very grateful. thank you for helping me.
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Glad to hear you had success with it; it's radical but effective. You are most welcome for the help.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220838

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice