[Resolved] internal mouse cursor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

running1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
15
have nec laptop w/ win 98. cursor only works in safe mode but wont in normal mode, can someone help?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
When you say scanreg /restore fails, can you be more specifc? Did you get an error message? Or did it tell you it restored a good (prior) registry and that did not resolve the problem?

Scanreg /restore will almost always "fail" if you restored the 5th or oldest registry. If you entered the command as scanreg/restore without the space after the g, it might not run.

What is the model number of your nec laptop? Maybe we can find the drivers for them. If you can't download them on the laptop, we can get you a "file spliter" program to download them to your current system and transfer them to multiple floppies for recombining.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
pointing device (internal mouse) drivers are available for that system for Win95; I'd suggest trying those as there is no "update" available for 98.

http://support.neccomp.com/kbtools/drivers/Drivers.asp

ftp://ftp.neccomp.com/pub/Catalog/2911/L6010FM3.EXE

Here's a file splitter program if you need it.

http://www.dekabyte.com/filesplitter/

It's also possible you have them on the hard drive already. You can just try removing them through the Device Manager and then rebooting; Windows may redetect and automatically reinstall them.
 

running1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
15
tried both ways scanreg / restore, also ran it in all but the last one says fails nec versa 4050c
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
try running:

scanreg /fix

in the same manner.

About all I can suggest after that is reloading the mouse drivers.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
:cool:

You're most welcome for the help; just out of curiousity though, did you have them on the drive, or did you have to download them?
 

running1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
15
they were there, removed them & restart comp and they reloaded without auto
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top