1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{Resolved} Internet connection goes off-line

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Chorny7, Jan 15, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chorny7

Chorny7 Thread Starter

I just purchased my first computer in August 2001, so I'm a novice at this stuff. I am operating windows 98' with outlook express 5 e-mail. I have high speed cable internet service.
    Initially, when I start my computer and attempt to connect to the internet and e-mail service, I am successful. But, if I leave the computer running, but unattended for a time (30 min.) ,and then return, the internet and e-mail are off-line. I have to re-start the computer to connect to the internet and e-mail again. What is the problem and how can I correct it?

2. Davey7549

Davey7549

Chorny7
    Welcome to TSG!
    Two things may be causing this problem to happen.
    Remotely possible is your win modem is interfering.
    Go to start\settings\control panel\internet options\connections and make sure never dial connection is checked.

What is a good possibility is the system power options may be affecting the connection to the modem. Go to start\settings\control panel\power options and set these to the following. Power schemes to "always on" and the next three, monitor, disk drives, and standby to "never". Click apply, click ok and restart system.

If problem is still occurring after above actions I suggest calling your cable provider Tech support and discuss the problem and what you have done so far. You may have to download a patch or may have a defective modem.

Hope that helps.
    Keep us posted on your progress.
    Dave

3. DoyceJ

DoyceJ

Try tools>internet options>connections>settings>advanced>change the time in "disconnect if idle for" box.