1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{Resolved} Invalid Arguments Error at Startup

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by BADLUCK, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    i hope someone can help me at my windows start up i get this message

    /r. master_oc_inf>
    specifies the name of master(required)

    /n forces the specified master inf to be treated as new

    /s: source path for installation(required)

    /u: unattended_spec>
    specifices unattended operation parameters.


    i dont know what this means and im not that computer savy i someone can help i would be real greatful
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    You've got problems with the syntax of one of the programs that executes at startup or one of the commands contains a "/?" switch. Do this so we can see your startup programs. Go <a href=http://home.earthlink.net/~rmbox/Reticulated/Only_IE.html> here </a>and download Startlog.com

    Once it's downloaded, double left click on it to execute it. You'll see a Notepad window open up. In Notepad click on Edit>SelectAll and then click on Edit>Copy.

    Then come back to this thread and click on PostReply. Then Right click in the reply window, select Paste and click on SubmitReply.

    BTW, are you running W95, W98 or Windows ME?
     
  3. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    OK WILL DO AND IM RUNNING W98
     
  4. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    ok i could not copy but here goes


    1 HKLM RUN
    2 HKCU RUN
    3 HKLM RUNONCE
    4 HKCU RUNONCE
    5 HKLM RUNSERVICES
    6 HKLM RUNSERVICESONCE
    7 WIN. INI FILE
    8 SYSTEM. INI FILE
    9 AUTOEXEC . BAT FILE
    10 START UP FOLDER
    11 ALL USES START UP
    12 MISC STARTUP CONFIGURATIONS
     
  5. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Sorry but that's not going to do us any good. What problems did you have doing the Copy/Paste?
     
  6. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    when iselect copy it will not paste
     
  7. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    See if you can do this

    On your Desktop you should see a light blue icon called Startup.log

    Right click on it and select Rename. Now rename it Startup.txt

    When prompted if your sure you want to do this, click on Yes.

    Now come back here and click on PostReply. At the bottom of the reply window click on "Browse". Now locate Startup.txt in the Explorer window and double left click on it to attach the Startup.txt file.
     
  8. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    here it is?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Not sure at this point which line is causing the error but I can tell you your loaded down with quite a few Spyware components like New.dot, SaveNow, NSCheck, etc...

    Do you recall installing some kind of Web Accelerator, Web Surfing tool or any freeware programs that might help us determine where you got all of that stuff.
     
  10. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    not rececently but i did install a anti virus program and it found a virus win32/magistr.a and it heal all but 1 file and thats when i started getting the start up message and i thought i uninstalled all that excess stuff
     
  11. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    spyware is bad? and i think the most recent download for me was audiogalxy which works but it cam with this bunzi buddy icon?
     
  12. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    First delete the Startup.txt file from your desktop.

    Then see if you can follow this removal procedure from Microsoft for New.net and SaveNow.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q302463

    Then try this and lets see what it cleans up and we'll go from there. Go <a href=http://www.lavasoftusa.com/downloads.html> here </a>, then on the Right side of the page, click on the little Yellow folder next to “Ad-aware 5.62 Final” to download AAW.exe. Once you've downloaded it, double left click on it to install it. Then look for the AdAware folder in Start>Programs and execute the program. Once it launches, on the Left side of the screen, be sure to select ScanRegistry(DeepScan), ScanMemory and Scan Fixed C: Drive from the directory tree on the Left side and then click on “Scan”. When it's done scanning, click on Continue and then select everything it lists and continue on to delete and clean it up.

    Once that's done, rerun Startlog.com, rename Startup.log to Startup.txt and attach the new Startup.txt file to a reply here.

    BTW, I may or may not be here when your done. If I'm not, there are plenty of others that will reply and help you.
     
  13. BADLUCK

    BADLUCK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    ok thanx for you help
     
  14. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Be sure to come back and let us how it goes. You should be fine if print out the Microsoft article and follow the instructions step by step. Then run the AdAware cleanup program to get rid of any lingering pieces of Spyware. If all goes well and your able to clean it all up, you should notice a big difference in the performance of your PC.
     
  15. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    And I also just noticed you may still have part of the Magistr.a virus running. I'm not 100 percent sure at this point if it is part of Magistr.a but do this and see what happens. If I caught you before you left to remove the Spyware, try this first and let us know what happens.

    Start>Run, key in Msconfig and press enter. Click on the "Startup" tab. Now locate the entry for SYSOCMGQ and remove the check mark next to it. Now click Appy and then OK. Follow the prompts to restart. Do you still get the error at startup?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63417

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice