1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Resolved) Invalid page faults and errors galore

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Drex, Jan 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Drex

    Drex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Hello,

    I apologize if this subject is repeated, but my time on the PC is very limited lately w/ the problems I've been having. PC is Windows 98, just downloaded OE & IE Ver 6.0 SP1 as mentioned in another post, but still having many page fault-type errors and crashes. Have about 13 gigs out of 18 free disk space, 216 megs or ram.
    Tried defragmenting, virus scanning w/ McAfee, don't know what else to do. Errors include:

    MSIMN caused an invalid page fault in module INETCOMM.DLL
    VSECOMR caused an invalid page fault in module ???
    WMPLAYER caused an invalid page fault in module OLEAUT32.DLL

    Tried support.microsoft.com, got no help there. Tried AT&T Worldnet Newsgroup, they're more for email. It's not the dreaded Happy99.exe virus. It usually happens after the computer is on for a while (more than 10-15 minutes, not at initial startup). Do I need a new Windows 98, XP, ME???
    Please advise. Do I need to run Spyware as requested in other email threads? You'll prob. have questions for me too.
    Thanks.

    Mike
     
  2. Drex

    Drex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Also get random crashes where IE asks to send an error report???
    Also sometimes get random blue screen with fatal error messages..

    Also get this one:

    Invalid page fault in KERNEL32.DLL module running Windows MediaPlayer7
     
  3. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    [tsg=welcome][/tsg]


    Would you please go to the link I posted below and download then run the startuplist program,,then paste all the generated text back here in a post so we can look at it

    click here
     
  4. Drex

    Drex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Hello fellow Bat-fan,

    I'd hate to post so much, but here ya go...per your request. Hope this helps.

    StartupList report, 01/23/2003, 6:35:21 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\3CMLNKW.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\OSA.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\FINDFAST.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AT&T\WNCLIENT\PROGRAMS\WNCONNECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AT&T\WNCLIENT\PROGRAMS\WNCSMSERVER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Office Startup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
    Microsoft Find Fast.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    McAfeeWebScanX = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.exe
    AvconsoleEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
    VsecomrEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
    VsStatEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
    POINTER = point32.exe
    3Cmlink = c:\windows\SYSTEM\3cmlnkW.exe
    Vshwin32EXE = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    SENTRY = C:\WINDOWS\SENTRY.exe
    New.net Startup = rundll32 C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL,NewDotNetStartup

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Vshwin32EXE = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 22/1/2003, 20:37:42)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SCHANNEL.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SCHANNEL.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET32F5.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IEPEERS.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IEPEERS.RCX
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RSASIG.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\RSASIG.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\XENROLL.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\XENROLL.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSCAT32.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSCAT32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSSIP32.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSSIP32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSSIGN32.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSSIGN32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CRYPTUI.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\CRYPTUI.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CRYPTNET.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\CRYPTNET.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CRYPTEXT.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\CRYPTEXT.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSXMLA.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSXMLA.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSXMLR.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSXMLR.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSXML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSXML.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSXML3R.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSXML3R.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSXML3A.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSXML3A.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSXML3.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSXML3.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WLDAP32.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\WLDAP32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DXTMSFT.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\DXTMSFT.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DXTRANS.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\DXTRANS.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTIME.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSTIME.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MMUTILSE.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MMUTILSE.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\JSCRIPT.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\JSCRIPT.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PLUGIN.OCX=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\PLUGIN.OCX
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSRATELC.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSRATELC.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSRATING.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSRATING.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTMLED.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\MSHTMLED.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HLINK.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\HLINK.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PROCTEXE.OCX=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\PROCTEXE.OCX
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URL.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\URL.DLL
    C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\IEXPLORE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\COMCTL32.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM42C3.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4303.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4315.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCLC.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4321.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4323.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WININET.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4334.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHLWAPI.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4346.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MLANG.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM4394.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BROWSEUI.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM5095.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOC401.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM50B2.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHD401LC.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM50C1.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHFOLDER.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM50D2.TMP
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DIGEST.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IE4SETUP\ACM5115.TMP
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SHELLI~1
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WEBCHECK.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WEBCHECK.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET52A5.TMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    C:\PROGRA~1\NETWOR~1\MCAFEE~1\SCAN.EXE C:\
    IF ERRORLEVEL 1 PAUSE
    C:\essolo.com

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MBHO.DLL - {D14641FA-445B-448E-9994-209F7AF15641}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E}
    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\IPINSIGT.DLL - {000004CC-E4FF-4F2C-BC30-DBEF0B983BC9}
    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\MSVIEW.DLL - {00000580-C637-11D5-831C-00105AD6ACF0}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Beyond.Com Download Manager,Version 1.0]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\AUTORO~1.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.beyond.com/activex/autorover.cab

    [Shockwave ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir8d196a.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [{E6D320C0-DFB0-11D2-9AF6-00105A27130E}]
    CODEBASE = http://www.att.net/new-care/wnsetup/wnsupdate.cab

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1044/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    NameSpace #2: C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll
    Protocol #1: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #2: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #8: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #9: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 8,896 bytes
    Report generated in 1.650 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  5. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Ok give us a little while to look it over.
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi Drex

    I see bandit429's off-line

    So there is one thing you must do before anything else - that is to uninstall NEWDOTNET - if you do not do this correctly you could lose your internet connection - do this :-

    PROCEDURE 1 (Add/Remove Programs):

    1. Click on Start.
    2. Click on Settings.
    3. Click on Control Panel.
    4. From the Control Panel, double-click on Add/Remove Programs.
    5. Click on the Install/Uninstall tab in the Add/Remove Programs Properties window.
    6. Locate either New.net Application or New.net Domains and select it.
    7. Click on the Add/Remove button.
    8. After removal of our software, you may be prompted to reboot. Please reboot after removing our software.
    9. If this does not fully remove our software, please proceed to PROCEDURE 2.

    if you need any more go here :-

    http://www.newdotnet.com/#remove

    I am sure bandit429 will be back soon to tell you what else to do

    steam
     
  7. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
  8. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Nevermind thats a macafee error!
     
  9. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    After you uninstall newdotnet Go to the site at the bottom of this post and then download and run Spybot S&D then see if that takes care of it..Let us know.

    Here is a link to a tutorial that appears to be an excellent guide.. I strongly suggest you read it through. http://www.net-integration.net/reviews/spybot1.html


    Be sure that after you download the program,, open it and click settings in the left hand pane,, then click filesets in the left hand pane,,be sure that system internals and usage tracks are unchecked. When you run the program only remove the items in red.

    Also in the lefthand pane is a button named online,, if you select that button a window will open and you can get the latest updates so nothing is missed.

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/
     
  10. Drex

    Drex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Hello,

    I followed instructions on this post. Removed the New.net and restarted/rebooted. Downloaded the Spybot S&D (thank goodness for Lurkhere.com, heh). After battling my computer like Superman in Superman III and getting errors like "An exception OE has occurred..." and "Invalid dynamic link" in the wonderfully pleasant blue screens...I finally got it on my PC.
    Ran it. Searched over 4K files. Found mostly Files and Registry Keys. No option to "Remove" all finds, just "Fix." It said it needed to continue next Startup 'cause some programs are using present memory????
    Little nervous at the "Use at your own risk!" message. So let me ask you, what did it do...in lamens terms?

    Well, we'll see what happens. So what is the next step? And before I forget, thank you for all of the help. It is very much appreciated.

    Drex

    P.S. Do I need to reinstall Windows 98 by any chance? I can get it this weekend if so.
     
  11. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    I hope you don't have to,,its our goal to prevent that from happening.

    What spybot did was remove small stealth like programs from your computer that you probably did'nt know was there,,they use your resources and internet connection to supply information about you and your computer to thier designers..Usually this stuff is downloaded with freeware such as Kazaa..others are installed pretending to be somthing thats gonna change the way you surf the internet...thier are hundreds of them.

    You will have to let spybot run during restart because some of this stuff is in use while your using windows,,so it can only be removed before windows boots all the way.

    Their is probably more there,, I think I saw at least one bho..how is the computer running now?

    I'm sure Steamwiz would send you a hearty "YOUR WELCOME" as do I.
     
  12. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Bandit has you on the right path, here's a M$ article about one of the errors you are getting about INETCOMM.DLL
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=182022
    And hopefully you'll not need the Win 98 CD, at least not to reinstall.
     
  13. Drex

    Drex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    All seems to be okay (but I can't say that too loudly). We'll give it a couple of days.
    But what causes the random blue screen crashes? Just got the "Invalid dynamic link..." one again.
    I'll let you know either way...Thank you one and all.

    Drex
     
  14. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    The one you just got, does it have the name listed?
     
  15. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    You should not be getting blue screens,,thats not good. If you post the error exactly we could research it. One of the errors in your first post was a macafee error,,but I would not change anything with macafee without letting us see the error in whole first. Could be something altogether seperate from that program.

    If you could return the favor by letting us know how it goes we all would certianly appreciate it,,,its how we keep up with whats new.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114809

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice