1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Invasion of the Illegal Page Faults

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by TheHawk, Jan 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheHawk

    TheHawk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Guess who's back? I got rid of the BSODs from my 'Is my comp possessed!?' thread, but I can't get rid of these Illegal Page Faults. I have formated and even during windows install rundll32.dll caused an illegal page fault! If anyone has any insight into my problem PLEASE let me know, I can at least expect comp to start consistently now but it is really getting on my nerves when, trying to compile a VB app or running a game or even IExplorer cause page faults :p They just popup!

    I look at microsofts site and they say its my RAM. I swapped RAM ports, tried each one individually, no change :( Help me out plz, I have run out of ideas! (I have all windows updates and updated drivers for all my stuff... at least, most of my hardware stuff)

    Here is a startup list of my comp, if you need more info I'll post it!:

    StartupList report, 1/15/03, 8:58:59 PM
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : D:\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2614.3500)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATI2EVXX.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CMMPU.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\3CMLNKW.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    D:\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    3Cmlink = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\3cmlnkW.exe
    mdac_runonce = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\runonce.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

    GrpConv = grpconv.exe -o

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    ATIPOLL = ati2evxx.exe
    ATISmart = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ati2s9ag.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\cmmpu.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 15/1/2003, 16:1:56)

    [rename]
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msnet32.dll=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msnet32.001
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\shell32.dll=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\shell32.001
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\USER.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\USER.001
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\user32.dll=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\user32.001

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: *Registry key not found*
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: *Registry key not found*

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37636.5969907407

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,423 bytes
    Report generated in 0.209 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Are you sure you are not running hot?


    There are a couple of entries in your startups that should have gotten removed after the install; I don't know whether they could be causing problems but I would run regedit and remove them from their respective locations.

    Navigate to:

    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    >> With the RUN folder highligted on the left, Right click on and delete in the right hand pane:


    mdac_runonce = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\runonce.exe

    >> Next navigate to:

    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    In the right hand pane, delete:

    GrpConv = grpconv.exe -o

    close the editor and reboot.
    ==============================

    If the problems with rundll32.exe persist, perhaps it was damaged during the install. I would run the System File Checker and replace it.

    Using SFC to extract files

    1. Go to Start>Run and enter SFC and click OK
    2. Check "Extract one File"
    3. Enter the file name and click on "Start"
    4. In the "Restore from" field enter:: D:\WIN98 [if 'D' is not the letter of your CD-Rom drive, modify appropriately]
    5. Click OK

    {if you do not have a Windows system CD, try subsitituting c:\windows\options\cabs in the"restore from field"}

    ==============

    Also here is a test that will force things to run cooler (and slower), but with more stability. Go into your BIOS setup and look for an option to disable External (L2) cache.
     
  3. TheHawk

    TheHawk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Thanx for the reply :)
    I did all you said, and I will disable the External Cache once I am done sfc. I honestly don't believe this to be a overheating problem, my case doesn't even heat up when I run my comp! I thought it might be my video card, so I bought a new one. At least I can run games now till an illegal page fault shuts me down :p lol, I really am confused at how this could be happening.... could it be my BIOS? Maybe BOTH my RAM chips are dying? If you got any hunches I am willing to try them out :)
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Normally I would think it was ram, although blue screens are more likely, and I think you have already tested that ram with DocMemory? While not absolutely conclusive, it generally will report fails if there are serious faults.

    If these errors are always in rundll32.exe, it is very odd, because it normally would not run except at startup or when accessing control panel applets or display settings.

    It is also associated with the mmsystem.dll in running multimedia stuff. You have the correct entry in system.ini as far as that goes.

    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    Many type rundll32.exe errors are covered here...

    http://www.generation.net/~hleboeuf/erundl32.htm
     
  5. TheHawk

    TheHawk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Thats what is so strange, it isn't JUST in rundll32.dll... it is just a horde of page faults, I get some trying to compile a program in VB or even running a game :p
    For example, when trying to play Majesty if I try to watch the intro I get the following error:

    MAJESTY caused an invalid page fault in
    module BINKW32.DLL at 0177:10003548.

    If I quickly skip the intro with 'Esc' I can play the game fine, at least for a while. Same thing with Age of Empires 2 and its expansion... I was doing a network game against a friend in AOE 1 and it had a BSOD error with my DirectSound VxD driver! I have no idea where these things are coming from, but they seem to be random. If I get a page fault compiling something I try again until it works, I also get protection faults sometimes in GDI32.dll. Here are a couple page faults from IExplorer:

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module MSHTML.DLL at 0177:7ad429ca.

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:00000038.

    (Several renditions of IEXPLORER page faults,
    didn't copy them all down though :p)

    The MSHTML one I looked up and it claims having something to do with my gfx, but I just bought a ATI Radeon 7000 64MG AGP (I had the IPFs before buying it)... If I run into more errors I will edit this message and add them, I'll search around some more to see if anyone else is having similar problems. But htus far it seems as though my comp is still somewhat possessed :(
    Any more ideas Rog? Thanx for being patient, I have had more than one computer guy frustrated over this system (including myself) :)
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I would try testing the Display drivers a couple of ways. One is by reducing hardware acceleration in System Properties > Performance> Graphics to NONE. I know everything will be slow as mollasses doing that, but if you get no errors at none, start bumping it up a notch at a time.

    The second is to load Standard VGA drivers. Usually the easiest way to do this is to run msconfig and click on the Advanced tab. Select VGA 640. When you reboot you will think you are in Safe Mode, but you are not.

    Try to do a few things which normally would force an error. Games may not run in these modes, but most Windows programs will.

    By the way, have you installed or upgraded your DirectX installation? And did you reinstall the motherboard drivers for the system after you formatted?

    These shouldn't be a source of IExplore errors, but they will definitely affect game playing.
     
  7. TheHawk

    TheHawk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Here are some errors I am having:

    MAJESTY caused an invalid page fault in
    module BINKW32.DLL at 0177:10003548.

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module MSHTML.DLL at 0177:7ad429ca.

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:00000038.

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:4aa4dda4.

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module FLASH.OCX at 0177:1001d0a6.

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module MLANG.DLL at 0177:7b761ae9.

    _INS5176 caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:006bfdae.

    D2L_INSTALL caused an invalid page fault in
    module D2L_INSTALL.EXE at 0177:0041e38b.

    EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
    module SHELL32.DLL at 0177:66815dba.

    DDHELP caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:baaba48b.

    DDHELP caused an invalid page fault in
    module DDRAW.DLL at 0177:baadb793.

    Same stuff even in safe mode or VGA :p Can't be my video card, do you guys think this is a fixable problem? This comp DID work very nicely at one time, then it was never the same after I formated the first time :p I am thinking I lost some important drivers or something somewhere, but I have all the updated drivers for the hardware stuff that I am aware of! I have VIA 4in1 drivers, the USB filter, all of windows patches and updates, c-media's updated drivers for my audio adapter, Catalyst 3.0 for my video card, DirectX 9, up-to-date USR Modem drivers, also mousem keyboard, and printer drivers are up-to-snuff.
    I really am puzzled as to what it could be, I am almost completely convinced it has to do with hardware or something and is letting me know about it through Page Faults :( Is this something that COULD result from an outdated BIOS or something?

    PS I got an overheating error again, that was when I enabled external cache and had my comp enclosed in my desk. Now it is ok, but I am going to update my processor as soon as I get the needed funding :p
     
  8. TheHawk

    TheHawk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    *nudges post back into view of the public* :)
     
  9. TheHawk

    TheHawk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Hey Rollin! Thanx for your help! Lol, I am at the moment running off my 32 Meg RAM chip and IT IS STABLE!! I can play games (slowly for now, *sob* it HAD to be my 128 Meg chip :p) and the flash stuff in these forums do NOT cause page faults anymore :-D

    I remember, back when you told me to swap ports I did... but before I could test my 32 meg chip I accidently dislodged some jumpers on my mobo, causing alot of confusions. I never got around to checking again :)

    If any probs pop up I will be back, but it looks as though this painfully irritating problem is no longer destroying my life :-D

    Thanx again!

    PS I'll hang around here helping out where I can still, I love this forum! :cool:
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Hey, terrific; yeah I think Ram was my first assumption. I guess we just can't rely on Doc Memory to be conclusive.

    You're welcome for the help and I will put a hopeful "resolved" on this unless you holler otherwise.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113486

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice