1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] It's now safe to shut down your computer

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by plibitz, Dec 3, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    I have a gateway pentium 2 computer that I was trying to set up for my daughter. After putting in a golf game that she likes, this happens: When I turn on the computer it goes through the motions and then displays the "It's now safe to turn off your computer" and will not go anywhere else. This computer has win 98se and didn't show that screen before. Now thats all I get. Help please, I am a novice.
     
  2. johnhammond

    johnhammond

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    its not a problem. all you need to do is push the on/off button on the pc.
     
  3. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    When you set up the golf game it change something that it should not have. My suggestion would be to boot up in safe mode, uninstall the golf game and see if that corrects it.

    Do you get to win 98 or does it shut down before then?

    Another thought is when you boot up in safe mode, go into msconfig and see if anything unusual is listed in the startup tab.
     
  4. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    It will not go into safe mode or anything else. I can press f-1 at start-up and get into bios, but I don't know what to do when I get there. I can also press f-8 and get the options, command prompt etc. If I choose open in safe mode it goes right to the "It's now safe to shut down your computer. thanks.
     
  5. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    I am sorry but I have never heard of one doing this and I don't want to tell you what I am thinking.

    I don't know maybe you will be very lucky and someone will have had this problem before that can help you but I cannot. Sorry,
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    According to this MS link it could be due to a damaged wininit.exe file in c:\windows

    You can extract this file from a Windows98 CD by booting with a startup disk (watch to see what drive letter gets assigned to the CD-ROM -- normally it will bump up one)

    Insert the Windows98 CD and use the command:

    extraxt /a e:\win98\base4.cab wininit.exe /l c:\windows

    This assumes 'e' is the letter that gets assigned to the cd-rom drive

    Alternatively you can try copying that file from your Win98 installation to a floppy disk, substitute that for the startup floppy (after booting with the startup floppy) and enter:

    copy wininit.exe c:\windows

    If restoring wininit.exe doesn't help, I would try restoring a previous registry. To do that, press and hold the ctrl key starting up (no boot disk here) until the boot menu appears. Choose the "command prompt" option. At the c:\> prompt enter

    scanreg /restore

    use the arrow keys to select a prior started registry.

    If that doesn't work, you will probably have to reinstall Windows. You can do that by booting with the startup disk, inserting the Windows system CD and entering (from the a:\ prompt)

    e:\setup

    http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q141898
     
  7. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    the scanreg/restore gave me a failed notice. how do i reinstall windows without a startup disk? is it possible to uninstall and reinstall from dos mode?
     
  8. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    My Gateway came with a System Restore disk. If you have one of those restart your PC with the recovery disk in the CDROM drive. It will boot to the CD and give you options from there.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You could create a boot disk using the files at www.bootdisk.com

    If the system you are on is the same Windows version you can also go to Add/Remove programs and follow the prompts for creating a boot disk.

    If you don't have a Win98 System CD to reinstall from, it might be posssible to reinstall from the cab files on the hard drive (if they are there). Normally this would be c:\windows\options\cabs

    You can try running setup from there by doing this:

    >> access the boot menu as you did before. Select the "command prompt" option. Enter each line:

    cd c:\windows\options\cabs
    setup.exe

    If setup starts, you may be prompted to acknowledge or select the folder to which Windows will be reinstalled. Make sure the choice is c:\windows (with no extension)
     
  10. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    I have the windows 98 cd. when i typed in cd c:\windows\options\cabs setup.exe I got "invalid directory. I made a start up disk from my computer (also win 98) but it will not run. when I go to windows 98 startup menu and choose command prompt only, before getting the c prompt I see the following: "The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\WINDOWS.000\EMM386.EXE There is an error in your CONFIG.SYS file on line 2" then it gives cd-rom info and then says "The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\CDROM\CDROMDRV.SYS There is an error in your CONFIG.SYS file on line 9
    C:\>lh\MSCDEX.EXE /d:mscd001
    file not found

    C:\>REM lh \MSCDEX.EXE d:mscd001

    C:\>SET MGA=C:\MGA\SETUP\

    C:\>REM REM lh \MSCDEX.EXE /d:mscd001

    C:\>SET BLASTER=A220 17 D1 T2

    C:\>REM REM REM rem - By Windows Setup - LOADHIGH C:\WINDOWS.000\COMMAND\MSCDEX.EXE /D:CD1

    Then I get the C:\> prompt
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It sounds like the files on your hard drive are thoroughly corrupt.

    The fact that you are getting a message referencing Windows.000 indicates that there has already been an overinstall of Windows and it installled into an alternate directory name because the old one contained corrupt system files.

    http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q142545

    However, regardless of the condition of files on the hard disk, a good bootdisk should load cd-rom drivers and allow you to install from a Windows system CD.

    Can you be more specific about what is happening when you try to run it? Sometimes bad floppies will prevent it from being read. Is the floppy drive being accessed when you try to start with it?

    If not, you may need to set the floppy to be read first in the BIOS boot order.
     
  12. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Rollin Rog,
    I give my hearfelt appreciation to you for your help thus far. the bootdisk does nothing at all in the other computer. I checked it in this one and it seems to be ok. (checked properties, type-Application, MS-Dos Name BOOT98.EXE, File Version 5.00.5001, description: WinImage Self Extractor file, There is some other info in the version section of properties for this. I then went into bios and found the list of boot devices.

    1.[Hard Drive]
    2.[Atapi CD-Rom Drive]
    3.[removable devices]
    4.[network boot]

    there is nothing in there about floppys.

    I have the ability to copy this bootdisk file to cd-rom. would that work? I Still would have to know how to reinstall windows.
    thanks
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It sounds like what you have there is a self extracting zip file to create a boot disk -- not a boot disk itself. These are .exe files: self extracting zips. (no zip program needed)

    If you downloaded that off the internet, it needs to be on the hard drive. Then you place a clean, formatted floppy in your floppy drive and click on the self extracting exe. Follow the prompts and it will install the boot files to the floppy in your drive. That floopy can then be used as a startup disk.
     
  14. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Rollin Rog,
    I did as you said and successfully made a startup disc, but when I tried it in the other computer it would not start when i rebooted with the floppy in the drive. I then tried to use command prompt only from start menu and typed A:\autoexe.bat out of desperation. Bad Idea. "Invalid system Disk" "Replace the disk and then press any key" is now all I can get. I have tried inserting a windows 95 startup disc, and a windows 98se disc I made from the computer I'm using now. same result. Now, when I shut down and restart after the gateway screen it goes right back to the same invalid system disk screen. this is with no floppy in at all.
     
  15. plibitz

    plibitz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    I just tried to force the windows 98 install using device list in bios. The CD started, went through checking system, and then said, "your computer already has an operating system installed, which cannot be upgraded by this version of setup. You need to obtain the Windows 98 Upgrade. Message SUO168"
    Would getting this upgrade help, and if so do you know where to get it? Thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60570

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice