{RESOLVED}Kernel32.dll error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
I recently started getting this error message when trying to open AIM:

"AIM caused and error in KERNEL32.DLL.
AIM will now close.
If you continue to experience problems,
try restarting your computer."

Crappy. So I wiped out AIM and reinstalled. Still get the same error message when I try to sign on to AIM. Can't use IM at all!!

I'm using WinME and I have only one copy of KERNEL32.DLL, version 4.90.0.3000.

Also once I got a similar error message, though only once:

"AIM caused and error in MYAIM.OCM.
AIM will now close.
If you continue to experience problems,
try restarting your computer."

Anyone know what might be going on?
 

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
Posted this yesterday... just don't want my thread to get lost down the bottom. Sorry to bother, but I need help soon!

I recently started getting this error message when trying to open AIM:

"AIM caused and error in KERNEL32.DLL.
AIM will now close.
If you continue to experience problems,
try restarting your computer."

Crappy. So I wiped out AIM and reinstalled. Still get the same error message when I try to sign on to AIM. Can't use IM at all!!

I'm using WinME and I have only one copy of KERNEL32.DLL, version 4.90.0.3000.

Also once I got a similar error message, though only once:

"AIM caused and error in MYAIM.OCM.
AIM will now close.
If you continue to experience problems,
try restarting your computer."

Anyone know what might be going on?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
143
This is just a suggestion.....

1.) Uninstall AIM

2.) Using Explorer browse to the AIM folder where it was installed and make sure everything is gone. In otherwords, make sure there are no settings files, etc. still left in the folder.

3.) Reboot your computer and install AIM again and see what happens.


Just a suggestion.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,270
Hiya

Lets see what you have running:

Go to Run and type MSINFO32
On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

Also, go here and download AddAware http://tomcoyote.com/lsindex.html

Download and run, ensuring that Deep Registry scan is enabled. Remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. If you're unsure, copy/paste the list here.

Also, whilst you're there, download and install RefUpdate to get the latest updates. Just click Connect

Regards

eddie
 

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
The plot thickens...

I downloaded Ad-aware and the latest Refupdate, but now I can't install them! I'm getting the following message:

"An I/O error occurred while installing a file. This is normally caused by bad installation media or a corrupt installation file."

And a subsequet message:

"Corrupt installation file!"


Come to think of it, I tried to install some virus protection software a few days back and had the same problem. The error message I got then:

"The contents of this file cannot be unpacked. The executable you are attempting to run has been corrupted. Please obtain another copy of the file, verify its integrity, and try again."

I was able to install Trillian today. I was able to install AIM last weekend when I started having the problem mentioned in my first post.

What's going on???


btw, here is my list of startup programs:
*StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

AIM c:\program files\aim95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

New.net Startup rundll32 c:\progra~1\newdot~1\newdot~2.dll,newdotnetstartup All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

SSDPSRV c:\windows\system\ssdpsrv.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Taskbar Display Controls rundll deskcp16.dll,quickres_rundllentry .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,270
Okay

You have new.net in there, but that shouldn't be causing all these problems. Go to AddRemove via the Control Panel, and see if you can uninstall it from there.

Then, go to Tools | Internet Options. Advanced tab. Under Browsing, look for Enable Instal on Demand. Untick, apply and OK.

Can you do an online scan for me:

http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

Also, see if you can download and install Startup Log from here:

http://home.earthlink.net/~rmbox/Reticulated/Toys.html

Just install, run, allow the DOS window to close, then copy/paste the Log here.

eddie
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Originally posted by The HP:
The plot thickens...

I downloaded Ad-aware and the latest Refupdate, but now I can't install them! I'm getting the following message:

"An I/O error occurred while installing a file. This is normally caused by bad installation media or a corrupt installation file."

What's going on???

Exactly what the error said:

You have a corrupted download.

Try downloading AAW from another mirror site:

http://www.lsfileserv.com/

Cheers,
 

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
New error messages:

"Stmgr has caused an error in MSVCRT.DLL."

"Winword has caused an error in MSI.DLL."

Things I've done:

-Uninstalled new.net.

-Dis-enabled Install on Demand.

-Finally was able to get HouseCall to work (I tried to run it last weekend but something was preventing it from working). It found 3 "Non cleanable" viruses in the windows\temporary internet\ folder, all of them named JS_NOCLOSE.E. So, just found this trojan, but I should be able to rid myself of that by clearing the temp folder, right?

-Ran StartLog, here is the list it generated:


The following is a list of your current Start-Ups
__________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________

1. HKLM Run - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"ScanRegistry"="C:\\WINDOWS\\scanregw.exe /autorun"
"SystemTray"="SysTray.Exe"
"LoadPowerProfile"="Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MSFS]
"Installed"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\IMAIL]
"Installed"="1"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OptionalComponents\MAPI]
"Installed"="1"
"NoChange"="1"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

2. HKCU Run - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"Taskbar Display Controls"="RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY"
"AIM"="C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\AIM95\\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

3. HKLM RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

4. HKCU RunOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

5. HKLM RunServices - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices]
"LoadPowerProfile"="Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme"
"SSDPSRV"="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\ssdpsrv.exe"
"*StateMgr"="C:\\WINDOWS\\System\\Restore\\StateMgr.exe"


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

6. HKLM RunServicesOnce - Registry

[RegPath]
"StartUp"


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServicesOnce]


==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

7. WIN.INI File - (c:\windows\win.ini)

Your win.ini run/load lines should look like run= and load= exclusively.
There should be nothing to the right of the equal signs.


These are the run and load lines in your WIN.INI file

run=

load=

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

8. SYSTEM.INI File - (c:\windows\system.ini)

Your system.ini shell line should look like shell=Explorer.exe exclusively.
You should only see Explorer.exe following the equal sign.


This is the shell line in your SYSTEM.INI file

shell=Explorer.exe

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

9. AUTOEXEC.BAT File - (c:\autoexec.bat)

(Some trojans have been known to start from this file)


These are your program startups and set paths in your autoexec.bat file

SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AUTODE~1

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

10. StartUp Folder - (c:\windows\start menu\programs\startup)

Shortcuts to any program will automatically start when placed here.


These are the shortcuts located in your StartUp folder

*(No start-ups found)*

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

11. All Users Folder - (c:\windows\all users\start menu\programs\startup)

Shortcuts to any program will automatically start when placed here.


These are the shortcuts located in your All Users StartUp folder


*(No start-ups found)*

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

12. Miscellaneous StartUp Configurations

-============================-
Registry StartUp Directories
-============================-

Should show the Start Menu StartUp and All Users StartUp directories

.....................................................................

[1] HKCU - Shell Folders

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders

"Startup"="C:\\WINDOWS\\Start Menu\\Programs\\StartUp"

.....................................................................

[2] HKCU - User Shell Folders

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders


.....................................................................

[3] HKLM - Shell Folders

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\Shell Folders

"Common Startup"="C:\\WINDOWS\\All Users\\Start Menu\\Programs\\StartUp"

.....................................................................

[4] HKLM - User Shell Folders

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\User Shell Folders


.....................................................................

-=======================-
Registry Shell Spawning
-=======================-

Open Commands for Executable File Types

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.exe file - RegPath = HKCR\exefile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.com file - RegPath = HKCR\comfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" /S"
(.scr file - RegPath = HKCR\scrfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.bat file - RegPath = HKCR\batfile\shell\open\command)

@="\"%1\" %*"
(.pif file - RegPath = HKCR\piffile\shell\open\command)

@="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\MSHTA.EXE \"%1\" %*"
(.hta file - RegPath = HKCR\htafile\shell\open\command)

-=========================-
HKLM RunOnceEx - Registry
-=========================-


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx]


-=========================-
HKU (.Default) Run - Registry
-=========================-


[HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"Taskbar Display Controls"="RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY"
"AIM"="C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\AIM95\\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl"


-==============================-
HKU (.Default) RunOnce - Registry
-==============================-


[HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce]


-================================-
StubPaths - Registry (Partial Listing)
-================================-

(Please see the StubPath.txt on your desktop for complete listing)

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components


"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\msnmgsr1.exe"
"StubPath"=""
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\COMMAND\\sulfnbk.exe /L"
"StubPath"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Outlook Express\\setup50.exe\" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /uninstall"
"StubPath"="\"C:\\Program Files\\Outlook Express\\setup50.exe\" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install"
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\verisignpub1.crl"
"StubPath"="C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\ie4uinit.exe"

-=================-
WINSTART.BAT File - (c:\windows\winstart.bat)
-=================-

@C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

-=================-
WININIT.BAK File - (c:\windows\wininit.bak)
(name) (type) (size)(modified)(time)
wininit bak 43 10-14-02 10:45p
-=================-

[rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

-=================-
WININIT.INI File - (c:\windows\wininit.ini)
(name) (type) (size)(modified)(time)
wininit ini 88 10-20-02 7:16p
-=================-

[Rename]
NUL=C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\UNINST~2.EXE
NUL=C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~2.DLL
-=====================-
Screen Saver Settings (Possible system.ini start-up)
-=====================-

SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BLANKS~1.SCR

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

- Supplemental Environment Information -

COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AUTODE~1
winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
windir=C:\WINDOWS

File - c:\windows\Wininit.ini
File - c:\windows\Wininit.bak
File - c:\windows\deletefi.ini

==========================================================================
__________________________________________________________________________

- End -
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
543
I am not a tech. I'm here for the help, but...

For the msi.dll error:

start
run
MSconfig
ok

separately extract and restore the following 3 files:
msi.dll
msihnd.dll
msiexec.exe

In restore type c:\windows\options\CABS

In save to path c:\windows\system


Click ok
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
I would go one step further than what Rocknchick stated and go to start > run and enter sfc and check if AOELL has messed with any system files like msvcrt.dll and restore them if it has. Check for any virus as a precaution also before doing anything.
 

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
So basically... I haven't done anything. I'm wanting to know more about this whole situation. I did an online virus scan with House Call and it just found a trojan JS_NOCLOSE.E.

I have gotten 2 similar error messages when trying to install programs, saying they were possibly corrupted installation files.

I have gotten 3 error messages about system files:
"AIM has caused an error in KERNEL32.DLL."
"Stmgr has caused an error in MSVCRT.DLL."
"Winword has caused an error in MSI.DLL."


My machine was very stable and virtually NEVER had crashes or problems until about 2 weeks ago. These things all have come on at once and re-downloading one install file isn't going to help the underlying problem.

I tried running sfc to check out system files but... it didn't work?? Am I missing something? I got this message: "Windows cannot find 'sfc.' You may have typed the name incorrectly in the Run dialog or another open program cannot find a system file."
??
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
JS.NOCLOSE is not really a virus, it's just a pop up annoyance type of thing. I would download AVG and try to install that, but with your problems I am not sure it will work. I am not sure if WinME has system file checker or not. Try running msinfo32 and going to the Tools > System File Checcker
 

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
Ok, found AVG for WinME online. Will do tomorrow.

I tried running msinfo32 and got yet another error message:
"Helpctr has caused an error in MSHTML.DLL."

Cleared temporary internet folder too.


I do... have a nice new copy of Win2k sitting here on my desk. Would a new OS solve my problems or am I jumping the gun?
 

The HP

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
16
One more error message to add to the pile, though I'm sure everyone gets it by now!!

"Winword has caused an error message in OLE32.DLL."

ahhhhhh why have all my system files gone to hell
 

Rache

Banned
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
1,398
ME has the most instability probs out of all os's. If you trawl other pc forums this should confirm this. My advice for what it's worth is to install 2000, a far superior os.

Good luck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top