1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] keyboard not responding as it should

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by darkgodessuk, Oct 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    hi guys.
    not sure if i'm using the right forum! the problem seems to happen when i'm on-line for a while but it effects the system so i'll give it a go here.

    the first thing i notice is after a while on-line instead of going to another site in the same window (like i have it set) the comp will open new window every time so i end up with loads of windows.

    also i've noticed when this happens the keyboard will type in capital letters to get small case i have to put the caps lock on, the shift key seems to be permanently on it will only type they characters on the top and i cant type numbers not even on the num pad!

    on desktop when i click on an icon to open it all the icon above it try to open at the same time.

    the only way i can solve this is to reboot the comp, but this happens again after awhile on-line??

    i'm using win98

    please let me know if there's anything else u need to know

    i've checked for viruses but nothing showed up. I'm lost!!

    i'd really appreciate some help

    Dark
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Certainly is strange. We can check for software issues if you give us a copy/paste of a HijackThis Scanlog. Be sure to use the latest version:

    http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip

    After unzipping run the application and click Scan. Copy/paste the full contents of the Scanlog.

    If no software issues are obvious and a thorough AV scan turns up nothing it is probably hardware related. Perhaps overheating or faulty ram is causing memory corruption.

    Or your video drivers may need reinstallation.

    To test the video driver you can select a Standard VGA mode ( like Safe Mode) and see if the problem persists (run msconfig and click on Advanced tab and select VGA). Or in normal mode, try turning down the hardware acceleration> System Properties > Performance > Graphics a couple of notches.

    How long has the problem been happening?

    You might try running the IE Repair Tool > Add/Remove programs > Internet Explorer > Remove > Repair
     
  3. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    ok posted hijack report


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 19:51:33, on 19/10/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2919.6304)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\CPQEADM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\DIGITAL DASHBOARD\DEVGULP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\TEXTBRIDGE CLASSIC 2.0\BIN\INSTANTACCESS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TWAIN_32\CIS600X\WATCH.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ULEAD SYSTEMS\ULEAD PHOTO EXPRESS 2 SE\CALCHECK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WZQKPICK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\BTTNSERV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\EAUSBKBD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YMSGR_TRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INCREDIMAIL\BIN\IMAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CMMON32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://uk.rd.companion.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://uk.rd.companion.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.neopets.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/ymsgr/defaults/*http://my.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/ymsgr/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/ymsgr/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.freeserve.com/time/reg/hometime/home_btd2.htm
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/ymsgr/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://uk.rd.companion.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=%s
    F1 - win.ini: run=hpfsched
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQEASYACC] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\cpqeadm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EACLEAN] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\eaclean.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Digital Dashboard] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Digital Dashboard\DevGulp.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\PROGRA~1\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InstantAccess] C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\INSTAN~1.EXE /h
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\REGIST~1.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PE2CKFNT SE] C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead Photo Express 2 SE\ChkFont.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AvconsoleEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsecomrEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsStatEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Hidserv] Hidserv.exe run
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [HC Reminder] hc.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [RegisterDropHandler] C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\REGIST~1.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\ypager.exe -quiet
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [IncrediMail] C:\PROGRA~1\INCRED~1\bin\IncMail.exe /c
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    O4 - Startup: Watch.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\TWAIN_32\CIS600X\WATCH.exe
    O4 - Startup: Photo Express Calendar Checker SE.lnk = C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead Photo Express 2 SE\CalCheck.exe
    O4 - Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
    O4 - User Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
    O4 - User Startup: Watch.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\TWAIN_32\CIS600X\WATCH.exe
    O4 - User Startup: Photo Express Calendar Checker SE.lnk = C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead Photo Express 2 SE\CalCheck.exe
    O4 - User Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Add animation to IncrediMail Style Box - C:\PROGRA~1\INCRED~1\bin\resources\WebMenuImg.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'nmtracer.dll' missing
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.freeserve.com/time/reg/hometime/home_btd2.htm
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.gamerival.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.neopets.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: www.jackpotjoy.com
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/essentials/ymmapi_0727.dll
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37881.6039583333
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D8089245-3211-40F6-819B-9E5E92CD61A2} (FlashXControl Object) - https://gamingclub.microgaming.com/gamingclub/FlashAX.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6A060448-60F9-11D5-A6CD-0002B31F7455} (ExentInf Class) - http://us.games2.yimg.com/download.games.yahoo.com/games/play/client/exentctl_0_0_0_1.ocx
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
    O16 - DPF: {EB387D2F-E27B-4D36-979E-847D1036C65D} (QDiagHUpdateObj Class) - http://h30043.www3.hp.com/dj/qdiagh.cab?306
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/d052c1d7d32ead/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {80DD2229-B8E4-4C77-B72F-F22972D723EA} (AvxScanOnline Control) - http://www.bitdefender.com/scan/Msie/bitdefender.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F00F4763-7355-4725-82F7-0DA94A256D46} (IMDownloader Class) - http://www2.incredimail.com/contents/setup/downloader/imloader.cab


    this had been happening for about 3 months i think

    Dark
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well there is no serious malware there, but you are probably overloaded on starting applications and processes.

    But first, is "neopets" a desired start page?

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.neopets.com/

    And do you really want these sites in your "trusted" zone:

    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.gamerival.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.neopets.com
    O15 - Trusted Zone: www.jackpotjoy.com

    Now for the startups. There is a lot of "user choice" involved here so you can experiment with what works for you.

    For maximum performance and optimization, run msconfig and click on the Startup tab.

    Leave checked ONLY these entries:

    [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun

    [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe

    [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

    [AvconsoleEXE] C:\Program Files\Network [VsecomrEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE

    [VsecomrEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE

    [VsStatEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING



    Now, having done that you have unchecked some things that you may want to re-enable such as your scanner support. Many things can be run from the Start menu as needed, or through Desktop or quicklaunch shortcuts.

    This is purely experimental. I haven't checked all the items, but you can do so here:

    http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM

    Also, did you have Norman Antivirus or Net Tracer on your system at one time? I think this is related to one of those:

    O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'nmtracer dll' missing

    You should probably check and "fix" that with HijackThis.
     
  5. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    have done startup msconfig

    will check other stuff tonight and stay online to see if it worked

    thanks
    Dark
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Okedoke. By the way I was curious about cmmon32.exe in Running Tasks, as I don't remember running across it before.

    Here is what I found:

    ref: http://www.answersthatwork.com/Tasklist_pages/tasklist_c.htm

    You might try terminating that and see what happens.

    Also I don't see IExplore.exe open as a running task. Were all browser Windows closed when you ran HijackThis?

    And now that I notice it, your version of Internet Explorer belongs to the 5.0 class that had a reputation for being "leaky" with regard to memory resources. This might be what you are experiencing. You really should upgrade it, or in my opinion, better yet -- install another browser such as Opera7 and get aquainted with it. You will need sufficient memory to support it though -- perhaps about 128 mb.
     
  7. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    will try terminating it and what happens.

    Not sure about the IExplore.exe I think the windows were open.

    only have 63MB but can i upgrade this on the net?
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I think upgrading is probably going to be a must. I don't think they still offer the 5.5 version, but if IE6 doesn't digest well, you can remove it. There are sites you can get the lower versions from.

    To upgrade IE to verson 6 sp1 on the net try following the instructions here:

    http://www.broomeman.com/support/wsiedown.html

    Opera7 is not that memory hungry but I couldn't run it on my 32 mb 98 machine until I added another 128mb of ram.

    That's something else you should consider as it will vastly improve performance. Ram is pretty cheap these days, I forget what I paid, but it wasn't much of a hit on my wallet, under 50 bucks I think.
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    If you have an older version of MSN or Earthlink installation cds laying around, I believe they had 5.5 on them at some point in time.
     
  10. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    thanks AcaCandy

    havent got any cd but I'm trying to download IE6 to c if it works.
    comps about 4 - 5 years old really need to update it but havent got the money at the min.

    thanks for the help
     
  11. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    downloaded IE6 no probs sofar..

    hopefully this has fixed the prob!!

    will keep going

    let u know tomorrow if this has been solved

    thanks for the help
     
  12. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    just thought u might like to know i tried removing Cmmon32.. but could not access the internet so had to restore it. this must be used by freeserve (my ISP)

    had no other probs as yet
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well that's good news so far then. IE 6 though it uses more memory than previous versions does not "leak" and will preserve resources a little better.

    If you still have all those startups unchecked, you might, after a while, begin re-enabling them, at least the ones you find convenient, a little at a time to see if they are a factor.
     
  14. darkgodessuk

    darkgodessuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Ok thanks

    I was wondering about changing the startup, I thought there was alot in there, but didnt want to through fear of breaking the comp. so you have helped me to solve two probs in one!

    I also found the http://www.answersthatwork.com/Task.../tasklist link very useful hopfully if I have any doubts I can check this first.

    Thanks alot for the help
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172976

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice