1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Resolved) Kodak Photo CD/Cyrix chip

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Paul K., Dec 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    I just had some film copied to Kodak Photo CD. Following installation program, an error message reads Interger Void, and something to do with "Director Program Error". CD info indicates there may be a problem with Cyrix chipset, which I do have (6x86MX).

    Does anyone know if there is a way around this. Could I simply replace the Cyris chip with an Intel - will it auto configure BIOS? Or is there a file that will let the CD be compatible?

    My other Intel computer loads the CD fine. (Also, although my picks are super sharp on developed paper, the disc pictures look awful). Digital transfer does not do justice to prints. Would a flatbed scanner have better results?

    Thanks,

    Paul K.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,072
    Hiya

    Are you using any other programs when you use Kodak Photo CD? Also, is there a version number with Kodak?

    searching away.

    eddie
     
  3. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    NO OTHER PROGRAMS WERE RUNNING. I USED CRTL+DEL TO CLOSE ALMOST ALL PROGRAMS THAT MIGHT CONFLICT. I CLOSED MCAFEE ANTI-VIRUS AND ALL PROGRAMS IN TASKBAR.

    I TOOK CD TO MY WORK TO SEE IF IT LOOKED ANY BETTER - IT DID NOT. IF THERE IS A NUMBER, WHICH I DON'T THINK THERE IS, I DON'T HAVE IT. IS THERE ANY OTHER PHOTO-CD PROGRAM THAT TRANSFERS PHOTO'S TO CD?

    PAUL K.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,072
    Just twigged what it is now.

    You say you've tried it at work and it didn't look any better. Do you mean you cannot view it? Also, is it the same chipset at work?

    Have you tried copying it to another disk to see if you maybe had a faulty disk? It can happen.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Eddie:

    I know the disc works - I have another computer with Intel chip and the program and pictures are viewable, and works fine. And, at work, it is also an Intel chip, which also works fine. I just think the resolution of the pictures are awful when digitized.

    Still, my main problem is I can't get to view the disc on my Cyrix based computer. My Cyrix system has a good monitor, so I am going to hook it up to my other computer to see if the resolution is better. (My whole idea for placing pic's on CD was to see if this type of format would be better than buying a flatbed scanner and doing it myself).

    Per your other question, the disk has a roll # 638514, and a bar-code # ALK2-030193-29.

    I think it is just that Kodak has formatted its usage to only Intel chipped computers. That said, does Fuji or Kinko's, for example, have Cyrix compatible systems?

    Thanks,

    Paul K.
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,072
    Hiya

    I don't think I was clearer on one of my answers. What was the program that you used to transfer the photo's onto CD, or were these done for you by another party?

    You say you're gonna hook up the monitor from your Cyrix onto the other PC. What chipset is that one?

    To find the Disks that work with Cyrix may take some digging.

    eddie
     
  7. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Yes, by a third party. The photo cd was made when I had the roll of film processed by Shop-Rite food stores. I assume it is sent out to Kodak and scanned by them. I had 4" prints made, double set, and ordered the transfer to high resolution disk(or so they say).

    I would be hooking up my monitor to the Intel chip computer, which I know already works with the Kodak photo cd. I am just doing this to see if my monitor's resolution would satisfy my resolution!!!

    I had just read that the Kodak Photo CD does not come highly recommended. Do you know of any that is? I have heard that Kinko's is the best, but costly. Do you have any experience in flatbed scanners?

    Thanks,

    Paul K.
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    I have gotten images on KODAK Picture CD and they were ok. Don't have have scanner so don't know if you can do better on your own scanning the prints.

    http://Kodak.com/global/en/consumer/products/pictureCD/pc/index.shtml

    I know the images were off on some images on the CD but ok on the prints and the other way around.
    But the Kodak software made it very very easy to fix.
     
  9. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Eddie:

    I tried loading Kodak Photo CD again. When the error comes up it reads: Director Player Error - and inside error box it reads:

    Integer expected
    <Void>

    Whe you clik OK, it keeps appearing untill you use Ctrl+Alt+del key several times.

    Am I missing some kind of Mulit-Media File or device?

    Thanks,

    Paul K.
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,072
    Hiya

    Now, that error that comes up. Very interesting.

    Do you have anything from Macramedia? They have a program called Director, and some of the errors that are reported on the web are from that product.

    Director stuff can be found here:

    http://www.macromedia.com/home/searchresults/?sp-k=&sp-p=any&sp-a=00050d14-sp00000001&sp-q=director

    Can you doublecheck all your programs to see if you have this one on the PC that it works with and the one it dosen't.

    Once you can confirm that this is not on the Cyrix PC, we may be onto something.

    This is about the program:

    http://www.macromedia.com/home/searchresults/?sp-k=&sp-p=any&sp-a=00050d14-sp00000001&sp-q=director

    Regards

    eddie
     
  11. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Eddie:

    I am not sure I understand about Macromedia. I had once loaded Shockwave/Flash to enhance Internet video, ie video of a golfer's swing. I just downloaded Director 8.5 and upgraded Shockwave/Flash. It did nothing to help. Should I uninstall it? I also deleted Quicktime for Macintosh (I dont know how it got on my computer?) . I still ahve quicktime for Windows, thought. Also, I looked for the Director Application/Shockwave, but cannot find it. Where should I be looking? It is not under control panel via Uninstall/Programs for Windows?!

    Thanks,

    Paul K.
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,072
    Hiya

    The director was just an idea, so that you could compare both PC's to see if each had the same or different software.

    I don't think its just due to your processor:

    http://groups.google.com/groups?q=Director+Player+Error+Kodak&hl=en&rnum=1&[email protected]

    His is an Intel.

    Are you certain that there is no software involved with this? As I don't actually have any of these type of CD's its kinda hard. Do you just pop the CD in and you view the pictures? If so, what do you view them with?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  13. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Eddie:

    Yes, you just pop it in. In my other computer, the pictures/exposures, which I had put on the CD, are viewable instantly, then a the Kodak program kicks in after you are done, to crop, change view, etc.

    When I pop mine in, it does not start viewing but, takes you to the installation process. When it appears it is all installed and ready to let you view your pictures, the error sign comes up. Clicking OK does not let you even exit - i must take oput disc, then do Ctl/Alt +del to close window. Somethimes I must do this several times to leave the error box.

    Thanks for the other persons situation. I will contact him/her to see if they have a similar problem

    Kodal sent me an e-mail to change my CD form quad to no read funtion. My computer-properties-file syst-cd/rom, then change options. It did not work, yes I re-booted machine. I unistalled all kodack program as they said - still no help.

    Thanks,

    Paul K.
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,072
    Hiya

    Which one of these are you using:

    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 4, Issue 1 - WINDOWS Version
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 4, Issue 1 - MACINTOSH Version
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 3, Issue 2
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 3, Issue 1
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 2, Issue 4
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 2, Issue 3
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 2, Issue 2
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 2, Issue 1
    KODAK Picture CD, Volume 1, Issue 1
    KODAK Picture CD, Select
    KODAK Picture CD, Version 4.2 Software

    Whats your video card? Control panel | System. device manager. Under Display will be the name of your video card.

    btw, any joy with the other person with the same problems?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  15. Paul K.

    Paul K. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Eddie:

    Hi. Thanks for your continued support. My Kodak CD version is Volume 4.issue 3. It must be the newest release because I have not seen this release indicated in all the sites I have been visiting to figure out my problem. I wrote to the other thread you left me, but have not heard back from him.

    My video card/display adapter is S3 ViRge PCI (325). This was installed as a Diamond Stealth video card but when I loaded Microsoft ME it changed/upgraded its properties to the above noted one. Should this be OK?

    I read something about the Director Player and some kind of licensed release "integer class" from Macromedia. But, I think this only has to do with programers making Websites?

    I found a file on my computer named "integer.class" under C:\unzipped\classes\java\lang\integer.class. I deleted it and loaded all of my unzipped files, plus additional downloaded files from McAAfee Software upgrade that I have installed on my computer, but none of those files helped.

    I also noticed that my Kodak Photo CD does not load when I place it in my drive. I must open it via winfile manager and/or under Run programs. It does not even work all of the time and must double click my cd rom icon many times before it loads. It is not my CD-Rom drive because all other cd's load automatically, every time.

    There is a website named "Ted's Kodak Photo CD" which mentions issues with Kodak, but no mention of any discs not loading properly.

    I am going to load Macromedia's Director Player again to see if there is a file missing in my system, but I don't think this is the problem. I think you are on to something in that my hardware is too old to support this newest type of imaging software.

    Let me know your advise. And, hey, thanks again for your interest. If I don't hear back from you soon, have a happy, safe and joyous New Year!

    Regards,

    Paul K.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61351

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice