1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Lost Program.exe file

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by MaryMary, Jan 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MaryMary

MaryMary Thread Starter

Hi there,

This is my first time using this...so I hope I am doing it properly...
    I recently installed an updated version of Norton Antivirus 2003, as mine was expiring (I downloaded it from their site)...anyways, since then my recycle bin won't work properly....when I click on it, it says there is a missing Program.exe file needed to run it...also, when I click on the Norton Antivirus icon, it says that "System Integrator could not initialize the current frame class"...whatever that means....I have deinstalled and reinstalled NAV 2003 three times now and I get the same problem...can you help me?

My operating system is Windows 98

2. Rollin' Rog

Rollin' Rog

Welcome to TSG, Mary...

Are you able to run other programs with an 'exe' extension without getting that message? If so, would you download, unzip and run the StartupList.exe program from the site below, then copy/paste the results to a reply.

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

Also, download the exefix08.com file from Reticulated Toys, and if you cannot run exe's, unzip and double click it to run. If you need an unzipped version, use the ONLY IE link at the very bottom of the Toys page.

http://home.earthlink.net/~rmbox/Reticulated/Toys.html

Doing a little research, it sounds like you may have a variation of this problem:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;q309538

Was Norton Utilities on the system? The Windows version probably won't make a difference.

By the way, if it sounds like that might apply, the key you want to locate in the registry is: