1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Macromedia Flash Won't Install

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Jennymac, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jennymac

    Jennymac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Hi all. Was wondering why I can't get Macromedia Flash to install. Am running WindowsXP Pro. I have tried downloading it several times from the Macromedia flash Website, but to no avail. Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance for your time. :)
     
  2. BigTex

    BigTex

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    I've known people to have this problem usually Adware or Spyblaster won't allow you to install.
     
  3. BigTex

    BigTex

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    I wasn't finished:

    If have a pop-up stopper program or SpywareBlaster/SpywareGuard installed. If you do some of these programs have a setting to disable Flash which you must turn off. Also if you have a Firewall disable it then try to download & install FlashPlayer & Shockwave.

    Go to this site. It lists numerous support links about uninstalling and installing flash player. Be sure and read the one entitled "Uninstalling flash player" - download the uninstall utility and run it and then try downloading and installing the Flast player.
    http://www.macromedia.com/support/flash/ts/documents/playerfaq.htm#remove

    Good luck!
     
  4. Jennymac

    Jennymac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Dear BigTex:

    Thanks for your feedback. I am going to try your advice, and I will let you know how it goes. :)
    -------
    BigTex, You are the King!!!! Here's what I did:

    1. I went to the Flash Website and downloaded the Uninstall Flash 7 File
    2. I disconnected from the internet, and closed IE
    3. I uninstalled Flash 7
    4. I disabled my Spysweeper to sweep drive C
    5. I disabled my Firewall
    6. I reinstalled Flash 7
    7. I turned my Spysweeper back on for Drive C and Enabled my Firewall
    8. Now it works!!! (y) :D

    You're Awesome, thanks so much. Glad to know Chilvalry isn't dead!!!

    I juz luv bein' a damsel in distress. ;)

    Want to be on my Christmas Card List?

    hee hee

    Remember everyone, you get happy in the same pants you get mad in. What's more comfortable for you to wear?
     
  5. BigTex

    BigTex

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    You're very, very welcome!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220775

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice