[Resolved] need help windows explorer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
when i go to start/ accessaries / and move down to windows explorer and click it. it goes to my documents not windows explorer what could be causing this to happen only a newbie so if anyone can help please make it simple to under stand
i have windows me. thanks in advance.col
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Col,

Rightclick on the shortcut in Accessories, choose 'properties', and look at the 'path'.

It should say C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.SCF, but it now probably points to My Documents.

Just copy the bold, and paste it intho the 'Path' field, replacing what's there now, and click OK.

Good luck,
 

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
tony thanks for you reply.i did what you suggested and i took a screenshot of what mine is in windows explorer properties i dont no how to put it in the post but i think i can place it as a a/ment
i dont really no what you mean so have a look at my screenshot and if you dont mind tell me what to do next thanks again.col.
sorry tony i cant attach screen shot its to big but mine says
c\windows\explorer.exe
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Col, in order to place an attachment in you post, you must click the "browse" tab and select the file where you have it.

If you want to create a Desktop or Quicklaunch shortcut which will open Explorer the way you want it, try this:

Right click on the Desktop and select New>Shortcut.

In the Command/Target field enter:

C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE /n,/e,C:\

Click Next and Finish. You can drag and drop the shortcut to the quicklaunch bar if you want.
 

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
rollin log thanks mate for your reply i suppose what i really mean
is why has this problem occured i have not deleted anything major i am to scared to go into program files have not installed new software what it says in the scren shot i took of explorer is
c:\windows\explorer.exe even if i right click the my computer icon
and left click explorer it goes to my documents i have trid to put a screen shot of where it opens after i right click my computer then left click explorer hope it works when i tried before it said a/ment
to big thank in advance.col.


sorry it wuld not except a/ment file to big
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Just change the target line of the shortcut to what I posted. Simply highlight and copy it. Then paste it to the target field of the shortcut's properties page.

Or just add the switches at the end:

/n,/e,C:\

As to why it happened, I don't know. Without the .scf file or the "switches" in the "target" it may be that you need to reset the opening folder by clicking the "drop down arrow" on the right hand of the address bar with Explorer open and change it there. I don't know if will remain that way though.
 

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
Originally posted by Rollin' Rog
Just change the target line of the shortcut to what I posted. Simply highlight and copy it. Then paste it to the target field of the shortcut's properties page.

Or just add the switches at the end:

/n,/e,C:\

As to why it happened, I don't know. Without the .scf file or the "switches" in the "target" it may be that you need to reset the opening folder by clicking the "drop down arrow" on the right hand of the address bar with Explorer open and change it there. I don't know if will remain that way though.
rollin log thanks for that advice bein a newbie i really dont understand what you mean i will put a screen shot now ithat i no how thru the help of doycej and perhaps you can tell me what should be in properties target windows explorer.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Col, just change it to look like the one in my attachment.

All you need to do is replace your target line with this one:

C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE /n,/e,C:\
 

Attachments

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
rollin rog did that then another dialogue box appeared and.(see a/ment) .thanks col.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
It's a little hard for me to see that, but it appears there may be a period in front of the first C

Reenter the line I posted (you can just copy/paste it there), but make sure the old one is completely blank first.
 

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
Originally posted by Rollin' Rog
It's a little hard for me to see that, but it appears there may be a period in front of the first C

Reenter the line I posted (you can just copy/paste it there), but make sure the old one is completely blank first.
thanks again i dont think there is a period there i copied and pasted what you had in your reply i will try again i have also noticed in the sceen shot i sent to the post the space that says
(start in) is blank what should go there i really appreciate your help.col
 

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
rollin rog thanks heaps you where right on it wasn,t a period it was a full stop and as you would no it would not except the copy and paste and now its all fixed if i left click on explorer now it opens to the c/ drive as it should thanks again.col.
 

col

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2000
Messages
356
Originally posted by Rollin' Rog
Great, you had me doin' a little head scratching :)
rolin rog north hollywood sound great hows the weather there okay, temp here in australia is a nice 24 deg celsius. i alway thought that if it was daylight in australia it was dark in the usa its roughly 10.minutes past 4pm as i type this whats the time there when its say 5.oclock in the afternoon here.regards.col downunder.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Well I think we're about 10 degrees cooler out here and headed down over the weekend. I'm hoping to see a little rain just to break the monotony.

Out here even a drizzle is treated by the local media as if it were a natural disaster. Close-up shots of a couple inches of water in the gutter make it seem as if we've been hit with Noah's flood. :)

9.40 pm as I write.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top