[Resolved] no administrator user account on computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

compdum66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
5
help! I changed my user account to a limited account for security reasons and now there is no administrator account on my computer. Therefore, i am unable to perform any administrator tasks. How can I make my account back into an administrator account if you must be an administrator to do so? I am just learning about computers so please be specific with any advice that you can oofer me. It will be deeply appreciated.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Are you sure the admin account isn't there? It doesn't show up on the default selection screen. Log off and hold the Shift key while the login screen comes back, you should be able to enter the admin account there.
 

compdum66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
5
well i have tried your suggestions and it still does not solve my problem. Even when i switched to safe mode you still must be an administrator to do anything. Any other suggestions ?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Did you try this, i got it from HP support>> it seems that you need to make a
new account with
Administrative rights. The information below
describes the different
account types in Windows XP, and explains how to
change account types
and how to save and change passwords.

Windows XP provides three types of user accounts:

* Administrative accounts can change privileges
(change Limited to
Administrative account), passwords,
system-wide settings, and
install any Windows XP compatible software
and drivers.

* Limited accounts may not be able to install
or run certain programs
and can change the account picture, create,
edit, or delete the
account password.

* Guest has limited access (similar to Limited
account) to computer
resources and can use certain programs
installed by others.

Adding administrative user privileges

If an account requires administrative privileges,
log in as the main
user (or any user with administrative privileges)
and add
administrative privileges to a user account as
follows:

1. Click Start, then Control Panel.
2. In Control Panel, click User Accounts.
3. Click Change an account.
4. Click the account you need to change.
5. Click Change the account type.
6. Select Computer administrator.
7. Click Change Account Type.

The account type has been changed.

Saving a password

Create a password protection floppy disk. This
disk allows the
recovery of a lost password. One formatted
floppy disk is required.

1. Click Start, then Control Panel.
2. In Control Panel, click User Accounts.
3. Click Change an account.
4. Click the account whose password will be
saved.
5. Under Related Tasks, click Prevent a
forgotten password, and
follow the instructions of the Forgotten
Password Wizard.

Follow the instructions below to reset a password
in Windows XP:

Note: If the main administrator password
has been lost, you must
run a system recovery to reinstall
Windows XP and setup a
new administrator password.

With a password reset disk

1. Insert the password reset disk into the
floppy disk drive (A:).
2. At the Windows XP logon screen, click the
arrow next the account
name.
3. Click use your password reset disk, and
follow the instructions of
the Password Reset Wizard.

Without a password reset disk

1. Turn on or restart the computer.
2. Press the F8 key until the Windows XP
startup menu appears, then
select safe mode.
3. Click Administrator.
4. Click Start, then Control Panel.
5. In Control Panel, click User Accounts.
6. Click Change an account.
7. Click the account you need to change.
8. Click Change the password, or Remove the
password, and follow the
on-screen instructions for the option
chosen.

This should resolve the issue.
 

compdum66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
5
I tried to create a new user account but since there's no administrator account, I do not have the privellage of creating one. It states that you must be an administrator to do so.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I have a hard time believing there's no admin account... All of the machines I've installed W2K or XP on get one by default, without asking.
 

Tushman

Banned
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Messages
633
Compdum, the admin account you purportedly changed to 'limited account' is not possible. The built-in Admin Account (for Win2K & XP) is designed so that it cannot be changed in such a manner. Most likely the account you changed was something other than the built-in one.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2003
Messages
24
http://winguides.com/registry/display.php/1165/

that should work there. try that and lemme know what happens. o yeah and always remember to back up da registry before proceding

start / run / regedt32 / file (up top) export

enter a name of like registrybackup and there ya go start messing round with the registry.. (but only this one lol) now what ya need to do if ya mess up somehow is just go into safe mod by just pressing the F8 key repeatedly click on admin if you can and if you can then you can re import the registry or better yet, go into user accounts and make an admin account see yas!
 

compdum66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
5
If there is a built in administrator where would I find it? and what is it called? Under user accounts in control panel, I am the only user and my account is a limited user account.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
You do realize that with XP home, you can only see the Admin account when you boot to safe mode, right?
 

compdum66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
5
Thanks guys for your help. I finally fixed my problem. When I was putting the computer in safe mode I was not typing in administrator under user name. I was using my own user name. However, once I did that I was able to fix the problem. I appreciate your patience with me. Thank you once again.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
So Johnwill, gave you the answer then! Thank You for posting back the resolution, some people wouldnt bother.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
It just took me a while, I'm not much of an XP-Home user, I usually work with XP-Pro. I have a machine that came with XP-Home, and I'm keeping it that way so I have something to look at when an XP-Home question comes along. :D
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
I have two xp home editions but i dont know what the difference is with xpPro? Is it much?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top