{RESOLVED}not able to partition old HD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joetech

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
259
I've installed all my hardware in my new EPOX / AMD Athlon and the new 40g HD partitioned just fine but my old HD Western Digital Caviar 21200, 13gig is not found by Fdisk. The CMOS shows it but I can't format it. I've tried it as Master on 33 ribbon cable. I've tried it alone as single HD with 66/100 ribbon cable. I've tried it as slave on 66/100 ribbon cable. CMOS finds it but Fdisk will not. Can anyone tell me what to do next?
Also It's been a while since I built my last one, I don't remember how I got the drive name for the CD drive.
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
How old is the computer? What is the speed? What happens when you try the WD alone? Have you tried formating the WD with EZ-install?
 

joetech

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
259
I have AMD 1.4G xp. I tried the WD alone and CMOS did not see it. Would it matter if I use 33/ cable or 66/100 ribbon cable?
I want to save the data on the HD. I don't want to format it.
Will EZ-install destroy the data?
If I take the WD out, how do I get the CDRW to work?
The 1.44 floppy works fine.
Thanks.
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Well, you should probably use the original cable. I am not sure if you have to select ATA 33, 66, or 100, or it is automatically selected, but you could try doing that in the bios. Also, if your HD and bios doesn't support 33 anything over 33 (which I'm sure it does) then you can't use the 66/100.

Yes, the EZ-install formats the HD. If it has an OS and your bios shows it, then it should boot ok. If you are trying to save the data, then what are you doing in fdisk? Try booting to the WD. Also, if get the WD to boot and you can't use it with another HD, then why not use the CDRW to copy off all the data your need to save?
 

joetech

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
259
Since I didn't have doc. for the old WD I set the jumper as indicated on top of the HD, didn't work. I remove the jumper and now it boots up great.
Thanks for your help and info.
 

joetech

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
259
I have the old WD drive running as C: and D: with Windows and the CDRW as E: . My new 40G Maxtor is found by CMOS but how do I define and partition this new drive?
I received the drive with no CD , instructions, or driver.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Windows won't see the drive until it's formated.
If you just want to leave it as one large drive, just boot to the dos prompt, navigate to the drive, check the size to make sure you have the right drive, and format it.
If you want to partition it boot to the c prompt, run fdisk, select option 1, create primary dos partition, make sure you have the correct drive selected for the screen, make this partition what ever size you want, when done, choose the option to create extended dos partition, make this the remaining size of the drive, now choose the option to create logical drives within the extended partition, you can make one or as many as you want within the extend partition. When done, format all
 

joetech

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
259
I must have used and old version of Fdisk before. This time it found the new unformatted disk. I'm formatting now, and working
great. Thanks for the help.
It's been about 2 years since I built a PC. Guess I need to make some notes.
The old WD drive would not work as slave...I had to make it a master and take out the jumper in order for CMOS to find it.
Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top