1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] opening new window

Discussion in 'Archive: Windows NT/2000/XP' started by JKram, Dec 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JKram

    JKram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    For some reason, IE6 will not allow me to open a new window in some programs. What will happen is a second window will open up, but it will be transparent showing the window below it. If i click the stop button then "refresh" i get the webpage I was going to. Any advice on what setting as magically decided to start doing this to me?

    thanks
     
  2. maffud

    maffud

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3
  3. JKram

    JKram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Still no luck. For some reason when I re-install IE6 with Serv. pack 1 it still gives me the same problem. I have used the command stated for the "run" fuction.. but still problems with it.

    Why must this be difficult? Computers are only as smart as the humans that build them? Yeah, well mine is a RAIN MAN and I am getting ready to beat it with an umbrella!!
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Is the IE6 that you have one that came with the operating system (XP), or was it upgraded?

    If it was upgraded, try restoring the oleaut32.dll off your system cd.

    Also go to Internet Options > Connections > Settings and try putting a check in "automatically detect settings"
     
  5. JKram

    JKram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    The computer came without an OS... I had Win2000 Professional installed.

    I have had this problem before, and do not recall how I corrected it.

    Currently, Re-installing IE6 with Service pack 1 is either not correcting the problem.

    I am also now dealing with a "WDM Video Driver for windows capture driver (Win32) that I cannot remove so that my Webcam will work.

    Is it a full moon somewhere??
     
  6. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    It's New Year's Eve. things can only get better from here.

    Here's something I copied and pasted a long time ago. Check it out step by step and see if anything helps you.

    Also. Do you have a pop up stopper installed? Anything to prevent new windows from opening?
     
  7. JKram

    JKram Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Running the commands in the order in which you listed below worked !! I know the first one never fixed my "blank" windows problem, but one of the others did the trick.

    Much appreciation to you and the others that have assisted me as well as others..

    Knowledge is POWER !!!

    Happy New Year and stay safe !!

    Jkram
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Think I'll put this one in the forum archive as it seems to cover all the bases :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/110382