{RESOLVED}Opening new window..

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
....I don`t know what happened, but all of a sudden I cannot
open a new window inside one that is already open. As an
example, if someone gave me the address of a site in their reply,
I could not open it.....my arrow turns into an hourglass but that
is as far as I get. ????:confused::)
 
Joined
May 9, 2000
Messages
3,212
A repair of Internet explorer might help if that is the browser you are using.

Start...... Settings.... Control panel..... Add remove programs.... Find Mocrosoft Internet explorer and click on it once then click on add/remove button. This will bring up a box with three choices choose repair and when it is done restart your computer.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
This is when you double left click............yes

what happens if you right click and choose "open" or "open in new window"

steam
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
If the repair suggested by Chris A doesn't work - this is something else to try :-

Launch Internet Explorer. Click Tools > Internet Options > Programs tab, then click the "Reset Web Settings" button.

Next, click the Advanced Tab, followed by the "Restore Defaults" button.

By returning your browser to its original or default settings, you'll be turning back the clock to a time when your browser actually worked the way it was intended.

steam
 

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
Well guys....I tried all of what you both suggested, but to no avail.
When I click on a highlighted website in an open window it
appears that my button bar and toolbars top and bottom all
renew themselves but the new window refuses to open. When I
right click, I am not given the option of opening the file, but if
the file is a JPG photo it will open on left clicking....????
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

Download to any folder or your desktop
Unzip the zipfile
Double click the exe file
go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


steam
 

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
StartupList report, 1/3/03, 10:01:15 AM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST15\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\POPUP DEFENDER\PD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NSCHED32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ZIP RESCUE\NSDSE32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PRINTKEY2000\PRINTKEY2000.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\BIGFIX\BIGFIX.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST15\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
PowerReg Scheduler.exe
Norton Program Scheduler.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NSCHED32.EXE
Norton System Doctor SE.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton Zip Rescue\NSDSE32.EXE
Printkey2000.lnk = C:\Program Files\PrintKey2000\Printkey2000.exe
BigFix.lnk = C:\Program Files\BigFix\BigFix.exe

Shell folders Common Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
CriticalUpdate = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Popup Defender = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\POPUP DEFENDER\PD.EXE" Minimize
Adaware Bootup = C:\PROGRAM FILES\LAVASOFT AD- AWARE\AD-AWARE.EXE /Auto /Log "C:\PROGRAM FILES\LAVASOFT AD- AWARE\"

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

[{44BBA851-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exeadvpack.dll

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\3DFLYI~1.SCR
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 2/1/2003, 7:12:6)

[rename]
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\odbccp32.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\odbcint.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\odbcinst.hlp
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\odbcinst.cnt
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\msvcrt.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\msdasc.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\HANDLER.SRG
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\mssetup.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\acmsetup.exe
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\odbcstf.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\common98.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\SelfReg.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\acmsetup.hlp
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\odbckey.inf
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\setup.ini
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\setup.tdf
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\setup.exe
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\qfeupd.exe
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\advpack.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\w95inf16.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\w95inf32.dll
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\mdac_typ.inf
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\mdac_typ.stf
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\setup.lst
NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~mdac.t\_MSSETUP._Q_

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

@echo off
SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H5 P330 T6
SET CTSYN=C:\WINDOWS
C:\PROGRA~1\CREATIVE\SBLIVE\DOSDRV\SBEINIT.COM
@SET CLASSPATH=C:\PROGRA~1\PHOTOD~1.0\ADOBEC~1

--------------------------------------------------

C:\CONFIG.SYS listing:

DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

C:\PROGRA~1\CREATIVE\SBLIVE\DOSDRV\SBEINIT.COM
LH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~1\MOUSE\mouse.exe
@ECHO OFF
C:\CDPRO\CTLOAD C:\CDPRO\OAKCDROM.SYS /D:MSCD001
C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\MSCDEX /D:MSCD001
C:\MOUSE\LOGI
ECHO.

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: not hidden
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}
(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_4.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
Symantec NetDetect.job
Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job
Windows Critical Update Notification.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1044/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

[PrintQuickActiveXSetup Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PRINTQUICKACTIVEX.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pqvalet.com/plugin/win/ie/printQuick.cab

[Microsoft Agent Control 2.0]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MSAGENT\AGENTCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/agent2/msagent.exe

[Shockwave ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

[HeartbeatCtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\HRTBEAT.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/zone/Z4/heartbeat.cab

[YInstStarter Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

[YahooYMailTo Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YMMAPI.DLL
CODEBASE = http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/essentials/ymmapi_0410.dll

[Yahoo! WebCam Upload Wrapper]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YUPLAPP.DLL
CODEBASE = http://chat.yahoo.com/cab/yuplapp.cab

[HouseCall Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/20011202/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

[iPIX ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\IPIXX.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.ipix.com/download/ipixx.cab

[PWMediaSendControl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PWACTIVEXIMGCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://216.249.25.152/code/PWActiveXImgCtl.CAB

[ContentAuditX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CONTEN~1.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805...ch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab

[sys Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

[{0335A685-ED24-4F7B-A08E-3BD15D84E668}]
CODEBASE = http://www.photoparade.com/autoinstall/phpsetup.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RUFSI.DLL
CODEBASE = http://security1.norton.com/SSC/SharedContent/sc/bin/cabsa.cab

[FVLiteLoad Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\FVLITEX.DLL
CODEBASE = http://digitalflip.org/fvlite/fvliteY.cab

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[MetaStreamCtl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\PROGRAM FILES\VIEWPOINT\VIEWPOINT MEDIA PLAYER\AXMETASTREAM.DLL
CODEBASE = https://components.viewpoint.com/MTSInstallers/MetaStream3.cab?url=www.viewpoint.com

[Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\OUTC.DLL
CODEBASE = http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab

[Brix6ie Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BRIX6IE.OCX
CODEBASE = http://ftp.coupons.com/v6/brix6ie.cab

[iCC Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPCONNCHECK.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/pcpConnCheck.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37594.7944675926

[OPUCatalog Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OPUC.DLL
CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab

[printQuick Browser Add In (Ver4)]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PRINTQUICKAXVER4.DLL
CODEBASE = http://216.65.221.30/plugin/axversion/1400/printQuick1400.cab

[CamImage Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\AXISCAMCONTROL.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.pattayalivecam.com/AxisCamControl.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 12,402 bytes
Report generated in 0.641 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
I don't see anyhing in your startup - however there are quite a few ActiveX plugins I do not recognise

I see you have Adaware - this has not been updated for 4 months and will not be untill the new version comes out in February - so

Please Download and install SpyBot,

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybotsd11r3.exe

click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

This may solve your problem

let us know

steam
 

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
Hi Steam...Prior to receiving your message I tried reinstalling
windows 98se and received the message stating that I had a
mismatched " setupx.dll " loaded....and the install refused to go
any further till this was corrected. How do I do this....???
birdog2:confused:
 

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
Hi again Steam... I just tried your last suggestion, but it did not
cure my problem....could you help me on repairing the mismatched
" setupx.dll " that windows setup found ??? ...I would be forever
grateful...
birdog2
 

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
Hi steam .... when I copied and pasted it to my brouser I get
the message that the page is not available.....can`t win !!!
Also, I went to start, find, files or folders...and punched in
[ setupx.dll ] and found two files. One was spelled correctly but
the other wasn`t, so I deleted it and then when I reloaded windows it loaded with no problem....but mine still remains....!!
birdog2:mad:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
With regards to the link above - you can't cut and paste it because the forum truncates it to fit on one line - see the three dots in the middle (...) part of the url is in there

If you hover the cursor over the link and look at the progress bar at the bottom you will see the full url

In other words you have to double click the link and I forgot that's your problem

I should have posted it like this so that you can cut and paste it

h**p://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q231793

Just replace the stars with t's

Anyway this doesn't help with your problem - I'll give it some more thought

steam
 

birdog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Messages
234
Yes...I did finally get it to open, steam...but I am at a loss on how to follow their instructions in finding and replacing lost files....
birdog2:confused:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
When exactly did this start happening - was it in the last few days - if so how many days ago ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top