1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{RESOLVED}out of memory message

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by paulpineo, Dec 1, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paulpineo

    paulpineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Hey folks, how's things? I receive an "out of memory" error while trying to run winamp and realplayer. I'm using a 233Mhz AMD K-6 machine with Windows 98. Nothing is running in the background. Even if we close everything but Explorer and Systray, we still get the following error message: "MMSYSTEM007 There is not enough memory for this task. Quit one or more programs, and then try again." System resources are 88%, the machine has 192MB RAM and 3 Gigs free space out of 8 Gigs total space. Windows is managing virtual memory. What am I missing? Thanks.

    Paul
     
  2. gsbham

    gsbham

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    if you are using two memory cards, take one out and try the system with one card. then try the other card.
     
  3. paulpineo

    paulpineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    I may give that a try. Unfortunately, I don't know what the heck I'm doing. I usually take my machine into shops for hardware service. But I'll open the case and see what I got. Thanks for the reply.

    Paul in Tucson
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Here is an MS link that appears to address it. I don't know if I would follow their sequence of removing all other players first or first try to remove and reinstall the multimedia components from Add/remove>windows setup>multimedia.

    But good luck with it.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q178677
     
  6. paulpineo

    paulpineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks guys! Big help!

    Paul
     
  7. paulpineo

    paulpineo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Hey folks, your help did it.

    I went to the Microsoft help sites you suggested and tried some of their recommendations. In the end, I believe that uninstalling RealPlayer8 Basic, as the help site suggested, fixed the problem. Thanks again.

    Paul
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60358

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice