(Resolved) problem configering printer in mdk 9.0

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
hello, this is about my 3rd day in mandrake and i really cant see why microsoft is still in bussines. this is as user freindly as u want it to be.
well on to the question i am having a hard time getting a hp printer to work, is sez that there is none connected, i have the software it came with should i pop that in?/file:/home/trevor/snapshot1.png
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
What printing system are you using?CUPS or LPRng?Try both as one should support that printer.I have a HP 600 series inkjet thats been printing from MDK since ver.7.1.It used LPRng.
HTH
lynch
 

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
oh and how do i write to my 40gb hard in mandrake on the five gigabyte so i dont use all of the mdk hdd
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
LPRng and CUPS are the printer services for Linux.If you go to the Mandrake Control Center you should be able to choose one of the 2 services.
The 40GB drive has to be mounted before you can read or write to it. Which, with MDK, it should be with supermount.
lynch
 

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
ok, the 40gb is mounted as /mnt/nt/
so is that what you mean,.andill try the printer suggestion
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
The printer is supported and should work fine. Read this.How are you trying to set up the printer?Are you using the printer setup wizard in Control Center? How are you connecting it-USB or parallel port?Do you have it turned on when you try setting it up?Try turning it on before you start the computer and maybe Kudzu(hardware detection proram)will see it and walk you through the procedure or at least get it recognized.
As for the writing to the 40GB drive,if it's formatted as ntfs then you can only read the drive,not write to it.If it's formatted as fat32 then it's possible.There is a write-to-ntfs module for Linux but it's still in the experimental stages,and I would'nt try using it.
Good luck:)
lynch
 

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
no more help needed i configured it in CUPS
thanks once again for all the help
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top