1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Resolved) problem configering printer in mdk 9.0

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by trevor1, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    hello, this is about my 3rd day in mandrake and i really cant see why microsoft is still in bussines. this is as user freindly as u want it to be.
    well on to the question i am having a hard time getting a hp printer to work, is sez that there is none connected, i have the software it came with should i pop that in?/file:/home/trevor/snapshot1.png
     
  2. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    Still cant see that image.:( What was that printer model?
    lynch
     
  3. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    /home/trevor/snapshot1.png
    its a hp deskjet 656c
     
  4. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    What printing system are you using?CUPS or LPRng?Try both as one should support that printer.I have a HP 600 series inkjet thats been printing from MDK since ver.7.1.It used LPRng.
    HTH
    lynch
     
  5. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    how do access LPrng

    because i have no clue wht they are
     
  6. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    oh and how do i write to my 40gb hard in mandrake on the five gigabyte so i dont use all of the mdk hdd
     
  7. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    LPRng and CUPS are the printer services for Linux.If you go to the Mandrake Control Center you should be able to choose one of the 2 services.
    The 40GB drive has to be mounted before you can read or write to it. Which, with MDK, it should be with supermount.
    lynch
     
  8. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    ok, the 40gb is mounted as /mnt/nt/
    so is that what you mean,.andill try the printer suggestion
     
  9. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    theres nothing i can do w/the cd
    there is only cups
     
  10. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    The printer is supported and should work fine. Read this.How are you trying to set up the printer?Are you using the printer setup wizard in Control Center? How are you connecting it-USB or parallel port?Do you have it turned on when you try setting it up?Try turning it on before you start the computer and maybe Kudzu(hardware detection proram)will see it and walk you through the procedure or at least get it recognized.
    As for the writing to the 40GB drive,if it's formatted as ntfs then you can only read the drive,not write to it.If it's formatted as fat32 then it's possible.There is a write-to-ntfs module for Linux but it's still in the experimental stages,and I would'nt try using it.
    Good luck:)
    lynch
     
  11. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    welll this happened to my printer config screen
     
  12. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    forgot to add the picture:rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. trevor1

    trevor1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    no more help needed i configured it in CUPS
    thanks once again for all the help
     
  14. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    That's great to hear!
    lynch
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - (Resolved) problem configering
  1. etherdose
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    377
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115628

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice